We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Save Saved
You added Novotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Louth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Usual good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stay at this hotel every few weeks - the staff are always warm and welcoming, to the extent I receive personal recognition whenever I stay. Should I wish it, there is a small pool, sauna and fitness equipment, which is good for a supposed 3-start property. Although it is away from the city centre, it suits me well for getting around the area when I'm working. The rooms are spacious, and well-equipped, with excellent showers.
To be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your recent esponse and the really positive comments in your review. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Sheena Hodgson (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    301
    112
    42
    23
See reviews for
208
163
55
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I thought it's time to give the Novotel a big thank you!

In Feb 2012 my self and my partner decided to get married. After looking at a few venues we called into the Novotel by chance after weekly shop at the near by Tesco.
First look round and we booked there and then. The hotel has a nice modern feel to it and the staff were all friendly.
During the next 10 month we organised the whole thing with lots of help from Emma (left to pastures new) and then with Rachel. Nothing was a problem and any thing we asked about was answered quickly with no hassle.

The big day arrived mid December and everything went like clockwork!

The layout of the function room was fantastic and all our guests commented on the great food during both the day and night time. The bar staff (Amy &co) were brill and had great 'craik' with everyone.

The bed rooms were nice, clean and comfortable and can't be faulted. Our 2 kids sadly were not very well on the day beacuse of a winter bug. I asked Rachel if an extra bed could be put in our bed room so they could be looked after and it was sorted straight away!

All in all for a wedding function we were so glad we chose the Novotel. Great relaxed modern hotel with staff that were fantastic. All our guests have commented on how nice the day was. Oh and the price?!?! It cost less than half of the quotes we had from some other venues!!!!

Special thanks to Rachel & Stewart. Going the extra mile to help the day go so well was good of you both.

A geat day with great friends in a fantastic place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for placing your review. I am delighted that you had a great experience and look forward to welcoming you back for any future events and celebrations. Regards Sheena Hodgson General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for two nights in the run-up to Christmas for the second year in a row and it is quite a nice hotel. I can't comment on the hotel or bar as we really just used it as a base to lay our heads but the room is quite nice, spacious, warm and clean. There were a few Christmas parties going on while we were here but I couldn't hear anything from our first floor room. The bathroom was lovely and clean which is always very important to me. Also used the gym for the first time - small but perfectly functional. Just one minor complaint; the reception desk is rarely manned and staff are normally in the side office. I can understand why they don't man the desk all the time when it's quiet but it did take a little time for anyone to appear when we were checking in and out. Apart from that it's all good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Just to re-assure you, the front desk is always manned (24 hours) but occasionally, the team take the opportunity to work in the back office, but do monitor the front lobby via a camera. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, [Sheena Hodgson General Manager "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions & we have never been disappointed.
The hotel is very clean & comfortable & we took advantage of the "Park & Fly".
The staff are very friendly and welcoming.
The value for money is superb.
We will definately use again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sheena Hodgson[General Manager ]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for one night having stayed several times before. The hotel is the usual good Novotel standard with a very good breakfast and freindly staff. The only downsides for us were the walking distance to the Metro station (about 15 mins) and having to pay for wifi in the bedrooms. We recently stayed in a Novetel in Bordeaux where the wifi connection was free.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Sheena Hodgson [General Manager ]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've stayed here several times and found it convenient, clean and value for money. Last night's room though had a sink that wouldn't drain and a bed that squeaked and clanked like a rusty suit of armour. The hotel is now getting in need of a re-furb. BUT the real reason for just two blobs is safety. At 12:45 at night the alarms went off. No PA just alarms. We climbed out of bed and went downstairs - absolutely no hi-viz jackets or announcements or staff to be seen or heard apart from one lost soul at the front desk who said nothing until we asked what was going on. He gave no directions to the marshalling point and took no record of who had been accounted for. This time, after two big fire engines turned up, was a false alarm. And if it hadn't been? Come on, senior Accor bosses - take a personal interest in sorting this out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.