We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Newcastle Airport

Save Saved
You added Novotel Newcastle Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 30% OFF
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here for a week with work. The staff were friendly and helpful, but the room was in serious need of a makeover and the cooked breakfast looked like it had been stewing for most of the night. The bacon was like leather, and only the fried eggs looked recently done. Free WIFI in the rooms would be a great benefit, too expensive at the moment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on 0191 2140303 . Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    306
    114
    45
    24
See reviews for
215
166
55
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

After over 20 years of staying here and at one time it being the best around, it has seen better times.
We upgraded to 2 superior rooms, they were small and the bathroom was inconveniently placed in the room opening onto the bed. The toilet being just by the door to the room was inconvenient also.
Behind the curtains there was one wall covered in damp and the plaster had blown with the metal reinforcement around the window exposed. The mess was not hoovered up, just hidden behind the curtain. We were offered alternative but declined as I had my elderly mother in the next room. At night the noise from air conditioning droned loudly all night, but when I mentioned this was told that we were on the top floor and there was nothing above?? Breakfast was poor, there were fresh eggs cooked for us, but the rest was luke warm and dried up not good value for the price.

All in all disappointed and will look for somewhere else next time which is a shame because we go there at least two or three times a year,
One bonus was that the barrier to the car park was broken so we did not have to pay, which we think is wrong anyway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on 0191 2140303 to discuss this further. Kind regards, [General Manager Sheena Hodgson ]
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My experience is the opposite of the previous one.
From our arrival to departure staff couldn't do enough for us, they were all friendly and helpful.
We stayed for 3 days as picking son up from Uni and finishing off shopping.
Location for us was excellent, close to Kingston Park and the Metro Centre.
We made full use of swimming pool and sauna before heading out.
It cost an extra £3 per day to have breakfast in the room, my only issue is who will do this now we're home:P
We ate at the resteraunt and the food was excellent, I wanted something not on the menu and chef just made it up for me:)))
We were in room 322 overlooking the carpark therefore no noise from the traffic:)
Will be going back:)))

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for placing your review from your recent trip. Good to hear such positive comments. I'll be delighted to welcome you back in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our third Xmas shopping weekend here and our last !
The room fine except the kettle only worked if you stood and held it on the base reception never changed it!
The room and bathroom ok but woodchip in the toilet was very tired
The noise at 3am of party goers kept us awake yet again
The hotel have now locked the gate in the car park to cut through to the Toby carvery so you have to go the long way because of this we considered eating in the hotel on Saturday but when we came down to the bar we couldn't get near due to a function having welcome drinks surely this would be better in the function room as we have a 10 yr old and the conversation certainly wasn't appropriate . So off we went to the Toby again!
Breakfast was ok good service but the food seemed greasy and had sat a while.
On departure I was shocked when the receptionist didn't say how was your stay but that's £10 for 2 nights parking which was strange when we had driven round to the pub and left the car there and walked back. So that's what happens when you lock your gate you lose out both ways on food and parking fee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for placing your comments on the site and I note the points therein. Best wishes for the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went for a conference with work. Lovely warm hotel, friendly staff. Didn't have breakfast (too expensive!) but lunch and coffee were very good. The experience was slightly marred by the shouting of other hotel guests until 6am and the fire alarm on Sunday morning but there is little the hotel could do about that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sheena Hodgson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A weekend stay that presented great value for money with break fast included.Very friendly and helpful staff.Very good hot and cold breakfast buffet.Rooms comfortable and clean.Well situated for public transport links into the centre of Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing room,great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to place your review following your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed on business whilst attending a course. Had room service when I arrived (hate dining alone!), very prompt service and dinner was good :-) I also opted for the breakfast in bed option and again, was delivered promptly and piping hot. I booked a superior room which had a very comfortable bed and a flat screen tv. There is a charge for wifi which is a shame, as the vast majority of hotels now provide this free of charge. The bathroom appeared to have been recently refurbished to a good standard. However, the toilet is separate to the bathroom and has been given a lick of paint instead...as another reviewer has mentioned, there is no sink in there! Overall it was a pleasant stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the accommodation was very good :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sha909, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Airport, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for placing your review. Your comments and feedback are important to us in continually reviewing our customer services and products. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Newcastle Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Airport

Address: Ponteland Road | Kenton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 3HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Newcastle Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Newcastle Airport offers state of the art facilities with stylish new design. Located 5 min drive from Newcastle International Airport now offering shuttle service and flight information screen. 126 en suite rooms including accessible rooms andinternet. Elements Bar and Restaurant. Ideally placed for conference and events with 8 rooms (200 persons) and leisure suite with indoor heated pool, sauna, gym. Easy reach of city centre night life, Metro Centre shopping and the Northumberland coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Novotel Hotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Newcastle Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.