We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews say....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews say....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed 1 night, as part of our weekend shopping trip, looking at some reviews a bit reluctant to say the least, after been able to book in early and the helpful receptionist, we got to our room and we were suprised...the room was clean, spacious and for our needs was quite adequate. Breakfast was good, the down side for us were having to pay extra for Wi-Fi we were offered 30 mins free down in the dungeon... Then payable per hour or 24 hourly, after where we stayed the night before 5* for cheaper and got free Internet access it seemed a bit steep the charges holiday inn were wanting. Also yes the metro centre is walking distance, but not for the less able and and not the ideal place if your wanting to keep going back to hotel with shopping bags, certainly not after dark.... Good selection of eating places around, we had a bar meal at the Stiff Inn highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Please note we are in the process of reviewing our internet charges. Currently these are based on the industry standard in our area. As you mentioned we do provide 30 minutes vouchers completely free of charge to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    137
    79
    30
    21
See reviews for
71
116
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed at this express a few times but it seems to be going downhill and needs work done on it.

Typical layout of small bar / breakfast area with standard express rooms, shower cube, seperate loo etc.

The beds in this hotel tho seriously need changed as last twice ive stayed here the beds have been awful, very soft, lumpy and basically worn out. This made for two very uncomfortable nights stay and I wont be back unless desperate, even tho it was very cheap at £45 a night.

For anyone who does stay the hotel has great links to the A1 and plenty of restaurants nearby, TGI Fridays, Frankie & Bennys, KFC right next to it plus metro centre 5 mins walk away, so its great from that point of view

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I was most concerned to hear that you had an uncomfortable nights stay due to the bed. This type of issue regarding the beds is genuinely not a complaint we receive often, however of course we take all guests opinions onboard and are conducting an audit of all our mattresses to ensure they are up to standard. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A friendly, professional welcome (early at 1pm) and a very nice, comfortable, clean room and bathroom/shower room - almost full Holiday Inn standard at a much lower cost!
Breakfast was exactly as described on the website and whilst not "full English" was tasty and perfectly adequate
There is ample free parking and dogs are welcomed, surprisingly and rarely, at no extra cost - other Hotels please copy!
Whilst the Hotel is within walking distance of the Metro Centre the route is not "walker friendly" and I would not advise walking, especially in the dark
A very good 3 night stay and we would recommend

Room Tip: We faced the Railway and did not hear any noise if the window was closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay. Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth (the original Scottish one!)
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm a fairly regular HIE user, this being my fourth different one this year, and as ever I found
that the experience is acceptable and excellent value. My wife, daughter and I arrived earlier than planned due to unexpectedly light traffic, and were welcomed and our bags stored in the hotel, rather than them being in the car whilst it was parked at the Metro Centre. I did not return to the hotel until nearer 11pm, having been at the football then a concert at The Sage Gateshead (what a fantastic venue!) and that gave rise to my only mild criticism in that I walked straight through reception and to the guest areas without challenge or question.
The room itself was as expected, clean, warm and functional although the TV reception was rather poor when catching a bit of Match of the Day.
Breakfast area and staff on duty pleasant, with a good selection of food and the HIE standard idiosyncratic toaster - OK if you like your bread white or chargrilled.
Overall, a decent base for the purpose of the trip; a cheap and frequent dedicated bus service runs from the Metrocentre to St James' Park for the football, and a taxi back from The Sage was a surprisingly cheap £8, the ladies shopped and ate out well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the reception on the television we will rectify this. We also take on board your comments regarding our toasters and endeavour to fix this issue also. Once again many thanks for your constructive comments they are genuinely most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed overnight on a trip down to the Metro Centre for some shopping.

Not too far from the centre, was advised we could walk (adjacent to the railway line and not along the main road) or catch a service bus just on the main road by the hotel entrance. As we planned to have a few bags though we just took the car.

Check-in was perfect, did notice a couple of (quiet) larger groups, looked like one hen and one stag. Passed comment to the reception staff who advised that they keep an eye on the groups and that there were two "wings" to the hotel and we were in opposite sides of hotel.

Room was as expected, clean (as was rest of hotel) with plenty of space. Bathroom was fine. we must have (slightly) faced the railway but can say we didn't hear any outside (or internal) noise at all. A good nights sleep, although beds slightly too soft for my liking (personal preference though) and nothing wrong with the bed/mattress.

As said in other reviews, there is TGI Fridays and Frankie & Bennies practically next door, however even closer was The Skiff Inn. On the recommendation of the Receptionist we eat there. we were not disappointed.

I did access the internet via the 30 minutes free option, that worked well and was a good speed.

Breakfast the next morning was a bit busy, there had been a wrestling event the previous night so a few families with kids etc. Plenty of items available thugh and kept getting replenished. Hot items were tasty also.

Check-out was pleasant and painless also.

Overall, we will stay here again, especially if we can get a good deal price-wise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here at the weekend in a group of 18 girls. As soon as we entered the building we were subject to discrimination. Staff named Naiomi and Aggie, could have not made us feel any less welcome. We were drawn looks and critisized for merely speaking. A bottle of spirte was stolen and we each recieved horrible letters through our room doors. Although we didnt take it. Understandably being in such a large group there would be a bit of noise; but on a trip to reception we seen a man standing with his head against our doors listening for noise?! We were later told he was listening every 1hour and measuring noise. At one point a group of us where in one room and this man and another member of staff (Naiomi) entered our room without even knocking the door.. and informed us we had lost our deposits down to noise even though it was 8pm and we had only checked in a few hours before and we had all been for disco naps! The same treatment went on through the rest of our stay, we were given looks and remarks were made towards each of us at the sight of passing reception! This is not service expected by adults working in a customer service role!! When we phoned to book the hotel we had explained there would be a large group and questioned whether the hotel tolerated noise or not and we were assured that there would be no issue with this. Also whilst there each one of us were demanded to pay £50 each to stay because we where in a group... something which was not mentioned in the booking call. However, after speakin with other large parties in the hotel they stated they had not been made to pay the deposit!? Dispicable behaviour. To summarise, we wont ever be back. And i would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay on a party trip!! Worst experience ever, travelling all the way from the west of scotland we expected better and a little hospitality would have been nice. Horrible place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am sorry that you feel you were discriminated against. I would like to take the opportunity to assure you that all groups entering the hotel are asked to abide by some simple rules of conduct one of these being that noise is kept to a reasonable level during your stay. If we receive noise complaints we always first and foremost speak to the guest to ask them to moderate the noise level. If a guest refuses to answer even after several attempts we then have no choice but to enter the room. Please again be assured that this is only as a last resort. Every hour the night manager does a security walk of all the floors of the building to ensure that all guests are safe and secure. Every year we have thousands of guests under 21 staying at our hotel who enjoy their stay in the hotel and to the fantastic city of Newcastle. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night for a footie/shopping trip, three adults sharing a room with a double bed and a double sofa bed. The room was a good size and very clean, the en suite bathroom was incredibly small but again very clean and with an excellent shower. I'm told the double bed was comfy; the double sofa bed was not! It was hard and lumpy but for one night it was fine, wouldn't have wanted to be on it for any longer though!
In terms of service, check in/out smooth with friendly staff. Only criticism is we weren't told where breakfast would be or how to operate the fiddly key cards for getting into the room.
Breakfast was reasonable, not much of a selection but fresh and tasty.
The location is excellent for the Metrocentre, although if you don't have a car you're walking along/across a busy dual carriageway between the two. Once at the hotel there are two restaurants within a couple of hundred yards, Frankie and Benny's and TGI Fridays.
There was quite a bit of noise late at night from rowdier guests returning but that's to be expected and reception is staffed 24/7 so any complaints should be quickly dealt with. My biggest criticism would be the smoking area being right at the front door, when we went to check in at 7 45pm there was a large group of intoxicated guys congregated there and it was quite intimidating having to pass through them as they were being quite mouthy, so perhaps it would be better if the smoking area was elsewhere.
Overall a perfectly pleasant enough hotel for a short break and good value too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.