We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short stays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ideal for short stays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed for one night for a footie/shopping trip, three adults sharing a room with a double bed and a double sofa bed. The room was a good size and very clean, the en suite bathroom was incredibly small but again very clean and with an excellent shower. I'm told the double bed was comfy; the double sofa bed was not! It was hard and lumpy but for one night it was fine, wouldn't have wanted to be on it for any longer though!
In terms of service, check in/out smooth with friendly staff. Only criticism is we weren't told where breakfast would be or how to operate the fiddly key cards for getting into the room.
Breakfast was reasonable, not much of a selection but fresh and tasty.
The location is excellent for the Metrocentre, although if you don't have a car you're walking along/across a busy dual carriageway between the two. Once at the hotel there are two restaurants within a couple of hundred yards, Frankie and Benny's and TGI Fridays.
There was quite a bit of noise late at night from rowdier guests returning but that's to be expected and reception is staffed 24/7 so any complaints should be quickly dealt with. My biggest criticism would be the smoking area being right at the front door, when we went to check in at 7 45pm there was a large group of intoxicated guys congregated there and it was quite intimidating having to pass through them as they were being quite mouthy, so perhaps it would be better if the smoking area was elsewhere.
Overall a perfectly pleasant enough hotel for a short break and good value too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    160
    83
    30
    22
See reviews for
78
126
21
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here on business but also to do some xmas shopping at the Metro centre, which is 10 minute walk away. They was plenty of parking at the hotel.

The room was clean, functional and had all the basics you would expect. It was a bit cold at first but the heating soon warmed the room up. They do not provide restaurant service, so bear that in mind but there is a TGI Fridays, Frankie and Bennies and a KFC literally one minutes walk from the hotel.

Now a number of reviews have moaned that there was not a full English offered for breakfast, fair point, but next time check what you will get before you book! The breakfast consisted of a full continental breakfast (croissants, cereral, yogurt, fruit), with sausages, beans and scrambled eggs as hot options. Unless you are a diehard full English breakfast fan this is more than adequate for a one night stay. There is small hotel bar that serves drinks and snacks 24/7, a bit pricey but nevertheless a convience worth having.

I think the term 'express' gives you a clue as to what to expect if you stay here. Its great for a one night stay, it has everything you need for such and is a good place to stay if you want to shop at the Metro Centre. Would I stay here for stay for 3-5-7 days? Probably not as it would need more facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on the hotel. It is most refreshing to read that you understand that we genuinely do not advertise a full English breakfast but instead offer a hearty complimentary continental breakfast with three hot options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good quality at affordable price, short walking distance from the metro centre and city centre. free parking. good breakfast options. nearby frankie and benny and KFC

Cons:

Small bathroom
No Wi-Fi
No dinner

Room Tip: choose odd numbered room for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments they are most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here last month when we were going to the metro radio arena on a Saturday night. Got a taxi which hotel booked for us. We were pleasantly surprised how good the hotel was having stayed in others in the vicinity. We had a nightcap when we got back and the atmosphere in the bar was very nice. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The reception staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good. We were handy for the metro centre next day for shopping. We would definatetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You know when you stay somewhere regularly but fancy a change...Well I did just that. Normally stay at another property in the area, but decided to try the Holiday Inn Express.

Not great is probably my fairest review on the property. Rooms felt cold and weren't particularly clean. Pricewise, it really wasn't that cheap and when you factor in a proper breakfast, which this hotel doesn't really provide, and given the fact it doesn't offer any Health Club facilities, it really wasn't for me.

Back to my old faithful hotel when in Gateshead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As a Holiday Inn Express we are a limited service hotel which means that unfortunately we are unable to offer health and fitness facilities on site, we can however offer a discounted membership to a local health and fitness club. The Holiday Inn Express breakfast consists of full continental breakfast and three hot breakfast choices. Currently the three breakfast choices consist of sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. We have heaters in our rooms which allow the guest to regulate the temperature to whatever their comfort level may be. I am unsure if the heater had a problem as I can see no report to maintenance over the past week that suggests that this had been reported. I apologise if the heater was not working during your stay. I also apologise that you feel that the room was not clean. I would have welcomed feedback during your stay regarding this so that we could have had the opportunity to ensure that this was dealt with immediately, as a high level of cleanliness in your room is the least you should expect from your accommodation provider. Please rest assured that I have passed on your comments to housekeeping in this regard. Regarding the pricing of the hotel we offer many different discounted rates to early bookers and corporate travellers such as yourself. Thank you for staying with us please accept my apologies that we were not able to fulfil you needs on this occasion however if you wish to have a change of scenery again in the future please contact me personally on 01207 541100 or by e-mail at gm@hiexpressnewcastlemetro.co.uk . Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed here on business this week and had a poor experience - the hotel is adequate, however the room was musty, felt like it hadnt been slept in (or cleaned).
The whole place has the appearance of a borstal - the staff are helpful enough and the breakfast ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. Your comments are appreciated and I have passed on your points regarding the room you slept in being “musty “to our Housekeeping team. Regarding your comment that the Hotel had the "appearance of a borstal" I genuinely have to admit that I have never had a comment like this before. We have a high number of regular business guests who return to the Hotel again and again as they consider us to be a home from home. I would very much have welcomed the opportunity to speak to you regarding your views and to try and pinpoint exactly what the issue was. If you so wish please feel free to contact me on 01207 541 100 or by e-mail at gm@hiexpressnewcastlemetro.co.uk. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a short stay at HIExpress Newcastle Metro Centre. Read reviews prior which we're mixed, but I know what good value you get with Holiday Inn. We chose because of the required location and the Pets Are Welcome policy. Pre-booking system excellent. Very friendly welcome at check inn. Rooms are similar to all these types of hotel and I must say, everything needed, clean and tidy. Very near Metro if you are shopping. Restaurants adjacent to hotel. A really good feature for us with dogs, was the riverside walk from the hotel (actually combined with a cycle path). Even without dogs, it's nice to stretch your legs and get a bit of exercise. Very comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast very good, contrary to some reviews. Recommended hotel.

Room Tip: We had dogs and the hotel gave us a ground floor room, which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. As a regular Holiday Inn Express guest and someone who knows the brand it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you consider us to be as good value as our peers. It is also nice to hear that you consider our breakfast to be sufficient. Thank you once again I have passed on your comments to the team who look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.