We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Lincs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good location for shopping at the metro centre. TFI Fridays next door was really nice. Basic rooms but clean. Breakfast could have been much better. Reception staff very efficient and helpful. I forgot my toothbrush and was very pleased to find they have complimentary ones available at reception, as well as other useful things.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear dncadventures,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    138
    79
    30
    21
See reviews for
71
116
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The standard of service at Holiday Inn Metro Centre was wonderful. I asked for help in planning public transport to a funeral in Ponteland the next day & Amanda (I think her name was) went to a lot of trouble planning the two stages with the help of Google & printing out a step-by-step guide to get to my destination. All the reception staff in this hotel were very welcoming & friendly. Lovely breakfast & great value for money. One tiny thing for people who don't know the area - 'Metro' because of the transport link suggests this hotel is in Newcastle itself, & it could be made a bit clearer that's it's way into Gateshead. Great modern shopping centre there though, 15 min walk from the hotel.
John Green
johnjagreen@btinternet.com

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have passed on your comments to the team and to Amanda especially, they were all very pleased to hear that they helped make your stay enjoyable under the circumstances.

Pat MacInnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

we stayed here as we were going to the metro centre shopping for the day and it was the closest one. the location was excellent so close to everything within a minutes walk there is tgi fridays, kfc and lots more facilities. we had to wait a little at reception to get checked in before we could go to the room and gt sorted.. we then went to the room it was ok the sofa bed was very big and the double bed was comfortable.... we went shopping and came back to find that the key for the door wouldnt work!! not what you need when you have a screaming poorly child being on the 2nd floor and the room that was furthest away!! there was also lots of young lads hanging around in the corridors! went back down to reception n they gave us another key which worked after a few attempts!! we went for breakfast on the morning- its supplied complimentary and there was more than enough to choose from.. there were 3 hot items which was sausages beans and scrambled egg. there was a couple of different cereals and then fresh fruit, yogurts tea coffee etc.. we really enjoyed it!! would stay here again if the price wasnt too expensive as when we went to newcastle again we did check this hotel price and availability but it was like 110 quid!! wouldnt pay anymore for it than a travel lodgen which costs 60quid tops!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

Pat MacInnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a concert at the radio arena ( 5 min drive) excellent location, especially within 20 second walking distance to TGI fridays.
The room was fantasic, with lots of
Facilities, more than the average travelodge.
Staff were very friendly on departure for hotel. Would definitley stay here again. 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments I have passed them on to the team who are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Oh my gosh can't tell you how bad this was we have stayed at holiday inns hundreds of times but this one takes the biscuit....booked in room 101 ground floor as we had a dog with us, fine on arrival receptionist was great friday 24th feb at 1p.m very helpful.... we were going to a funeral and she let us in our room early to change as we just had a 6 hr journey down from highlands. Come back to hotel 9p.m to get a good night sleep as we had the 6 hr journey back, well noisy people out side room , talking loud 1 , 2 , 3 in morning,The dual carraige way was very noisy till about 2a.m boy racers on motorbikes zooming around, then a car was burgled right outside our window don't park car at back of hotel, not safe! police arrived 4a.m. Then we could not get back to sleep, in morning when we said to the receptionist it was the worst night sleep we had had in the hotel, she just could not be bothered to be customer friendly she was not bothered at all and just said you should of told the night porter, my husband was up at 4a.m checking our car had not been broken into and no one to be seen on reception so there you go...... will never stay at this hotel again. receptionist on saturtday morning could do with customer service training we left at 8.30a.m sat 25th feb !

Room Tip: do not pick rm 101 ground floor noisy dual carraige way outside and back of car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, I was extremely concerned to hear that your comments were not addressed properly on check out and would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel. However I am sure that you will agree the fact that a car was broken in to in the car park is not the fault of the hotel and in fact we have taken every precaution to ensure that security is tight within our hotel and also in the grounds. I would like to assure you that this is an isolated incident and we are co-operating fully with the police in this matter, it was the hotel staff who reported the incident to the authorities. With regard to the noise on the evening you stayed the corridors are patrolled regularly by the staff and I can see no report of noise on the floor on which you stayed so can only assume that as the receptionist on check out stated you did not bring this to the attention of the staff on duty so that we could do something about it. Once again I apologise as clearly the member of staff you spoke to did not communicate this properly on check out and was unduly rude, however at all times if a guest has a problem we are genuinely committed to helping and in this instance I am disappointed that unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to help at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Have had 2 good stays here. Its in a great location for shopping at Metrocentre and easy access to major routes. The room was clean this time (27/8 Jan) (although smelt of smoke a little) and nice. Could have been a little brighte, lights randomly places. Staff were very nice, esp housekeeping and reception.
I was woken up one night by rowdy lads oppositeat 2am ish and couldnt get back to sleep. I would have rated 4/5if it hadnt been for that but I acknowledge just bad luck to be opposite.
Breakfast is fair and plentiful although no beans on day 2 so as a veggie left me with just scarmbled agg as hot option.
Free parking and very close to TGI Fridays and Frankie and Bennys and a pub means you can have a nice meal out without going too far. I'd advise driving to Metrocentre car parks as a longish walk, esp with shopping bags!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a dbl bed and a sofa, others 2 singles. Best to ask if you'd prefer one over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff which are most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel confirms that they used to be!!
It does the job it was built for and although it can't be that old it feels dated in a strange modernish way!!
The beds to me are quite uncomfy, the lighting in the room is extremely poor, quite depressive and useless if you want to work in the room, because the electric doesn't work until you put the card in the slot and it's electric heating the room can be very cold on arrival, that apart its ok, very average.
The friendliness of the staff and the ease of the location do make up for some of the hotels faults but I will be looking for somewhere else in the area and I suspect if I come across a new or refurbished Premier I won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.