We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Nights Sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel

Carlton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82-86 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Terrible Nights Sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Noisy, cold and poor customer service.
Stay here if you are on a stag or hen night or the like. Do not stay here if you want a good nights before a busy days work like me.
The room was okay, dated and in need of a couple of modcons like a new television. The shower was so weak it was a waste of time. The towels were like sand paper. The mattress was old and lumpy.
A warm welcome at reception was not even forthcoming. They do not have problems it is all the guests fault never the hotels that sort of attitude,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel and away from the stairwell. Note that there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    20
    15
    23
See reviews for
1
14
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The room needed updating but was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but the noise from the guests was terrible. Shouting,swearing and banging doors all hours and this was not helped by creaky floorboards in hallway and thin walls.There was a night porter on who was available for complaints but I think he would have been very busy!!!
An ok place for students and young people who do not want to sleep!

Room Tip: Visit during week and not weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great value, quiet little hotel on the busy Osborne Road in Jesmond. Has a fantastic bar below with the local tradition of happy hour buttons - has to be seen to be believed, but you could get your whole round of drinks completely free. I always stay here when in Newcastle, where I previously lived for three years - it's perfect for a couple of nights; more homely that a travel lodge and nowhere near as expensive as a city centre hotel, but a short and simple cab ride from the main road will get you wherever you need to be in ten minutes as Newcastle is a bustling but compact city. Tea and coffee facilities and all rooms en suite with a great continental breakfast and within walking distance of the shops of Jesmond, Starbucks, Tesco, Pizza Express and of course, all of the other bars, restaurants and delights of the famous Osborne Road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than those on the main road. Rooms on the first floor at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the carlton hotel after i returned from travelling and loved it, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was always kept clean and provided with fresh towels and free biscuits for my coffee, the best bit was the beds lovely comfortable beds tho which gave me the best nights sleep. And in the morning the staff even made me a ham and cheese toasty to get my day started. I'll stay here whenever i return to my home town, spy bar next door has a awesome happy hour as well, i love that buzzer : )

David Douglas

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had been staying at the Euro Hostel with my sister & 2 children then 2 & 6 months, we were in Newcastle as my husband was a patient in the Freeman Hospital while waiting for a lung transplant, unfortunately when my husband became very ill we needed to stay longer & the Euro Hostel couldn't accommodate us, I was very grateful when I spoke to the gent from the Carlton & he had space for us, we had only been prepared for an overnight stay in Newcastle so I was glad of the price as this was our 4th night in a hotel, however the 1st problem encountered was on the stairs, part of the railing was missing & I was worried that my 2 year old could fit through, the room itself was dated but tidy enough! I left for the hospital leaving my sister and boys in the room, when I got to the hospital the transplant coordinator gave me keys for a flat within the hospital grounds for us to stay, I immediately called my sister & told her Id come get them, they were in the room less than an hour & new the circumstances & why we were leaving, yet they refused to give us any money back, given that they knew the situation I was in I felt that at least a partial refund would have been a kind gesture, my children sat on the bed and watched tv for less than an hour, I was angry and stressed and pointed out that I may lose my husband that day & the boys their father & the reply from the gent was that he too had suffered grief as he had lost his grandmother, I am not belittling his loss but it hardly be compared to my children losing their father which they did the next day, on my return home I sent an email to complain about the callous manner we in which were treated and the reply was a simple excuse of company policy, no compassion or morals at all... Sorry for the long post, please avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Hotel from outside looks good in keeping with surrounding area. Inside it is looking a little tired. Carpets in the corridors need a clean, didn't smell to great in certain areas. Room was fine, quite a gud size. Very clean could not fault that, bathroom was spotless and overall what I was expecting from the star rating.The walls seem pretty thin and I could hear a lot of noise from other rooms and outside. The gentleman on reception at checkin was very pleasant, helped me out with a few things.
I would stay again if it was just for the one night as the location is great and it did do the job for what I was looking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is shabby and tired. The room was small and the bathroom fittings were badly fitted ie the taps on the sink did not run directly into the bowl as they did not protrude far enough to clear the edge of the bowl. The bedside light, which is located on the wall directly above the bed (there is no headboard) was loose and spun around and nearly caused an injury. The communal toilets, adjacent to the reception, were very dirty (at 9 o'clock in the morning) there was vomit in the gents and the ladies were still to be cleaned from the night before. The hotel's residents were mainly young adults who thought nothing of inconsiderately running between their rooms shouting and banging doors at 04:45 in the morning. The hotel has parking for approx 9 - 10 cars. The receptionist informed me that should my car need moving, to allow another car to be moved, then she would ring me to get me to return to the hotel in order to move it. The car park is used by both staff and customers reducing the number of spaces available to customers. The breakfast is poor quality with no cooked food option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Address: 82-86 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.