We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies Day....!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Racecourse

Newcastle Racecourse
High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HP, England
+44 191 236 2020
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the heart of Newcastle within the High Gosforth Park Estate, Newcastle Racecourse is one of the most popular dual code tracks in the UK. Steeped in history, we've been home to the Northumberland Plate since 1882 and host 30 race meeting per year. Newcastle racecourse is the perfect wedding location with various private rooms for your special day. The option for events and conferences is endless within the 850 acre estate and function rooms of all sizes. Lindisfarne play live after racing on Sat 6th June. Spandau Ballet play live after racing on 28th August.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ladies Day....!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and i love coming every ladies day,we go with our frineds and have a great time.Shame about the weather,we had a few showers last year.Start off in the job bullman on the high street for some breakfast/diner then hit the races

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelNCL, Manager at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Hopefully the sun will be shining this year for Ladies Day. The date this year is the 27th July and it is the 10th Year anniversary of Ladies Day.

We hope to see you again at Newcastle Racecourse.

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    55
    37
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went a while ago on a corporate day out and it was a memorable event. Loved the atmosphere and would love to go again maybe to Ladies Day. Who needs Ascot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

im a member as i love racing and its my local course. Experiences are mixed depending on size of the crowd so i would recommend coming on a non-festival day (not the plate or ladies day) one of the early summer evening meetings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“loved it was good day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

was a great experience and loved tghe little bet i put on and its a clean enviroment,people are friendly and u just felt good lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Northumberland Plate - Great Day !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went with friends for the Pitman's Derby and we had a great day. We were in the Premier Enclosure, which was well worth the £45. Although we had both rain and sunshine (Mostly Rain) it didn't deter us having a great day and embracing a big race meet. The atmosphere was amazing. The "Security Staff/Stewards" are frustrating however, but just ignore them and enjoy your day and come home up, not down, like we did. The drinks are expensive mind, and there is always a queue for the toilet. See you next year.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcastle Racecourse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Newcastle Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.