We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Racecourse

Newcastle Racecourse
High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HP, England
+44 191 236 2020
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the heart of Newcastle within the High Gosforth Park Estate, Newcastle Racecourse is one of the most popular dual code tracks in the UK. Steeped in history, we've been home to the Northumberland Plate since 1882 and host 30 race meeting per year. Newcastle racecourse is the perfect wedding location with various private rooms for your special day. The option for events and conferences is endless within the 850 acre estate and function rooms of all sizes. Lindisfarne play live after racing on Sat 6th June. Spandau Ballet play live after racing on 28th August.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went a while ago on a corporate day out and it was a memorable event. Loved the atmosphere and would love to go again maybe to Ladies Day. Who needs Ascot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    53
    37
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

im a member as i love racing and its my local course. Experiences are mixed depending on size of the crowd so i would recommend coming on a non-festival day (not the plate or ladies day) one of the early summer evening meetings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“loved it was good day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

was a great experience and loved tghe little bet i put on and its a clean enviroment,people are friendly and u just felt good lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Northumberland Plate - Great Day !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went with friends for the Pitman's Derby and we had a great day. We were in the Premier Enclosure, which was well worth the £45. Although we had both rain and sunshine (Mostly Rain) it didn't deter us having a great day and embracing a big race meet. The atmosphere was amazing. The "Security Staff/Stewards" are frustrating however, but just ignore them and enjoy your day and come home up, not down, like we did. The drinks are expensive mind, and there is always a queue for the toilet. See you next year.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Always a good day and good racing.
Love the course and always brilliantly presented.

Major shortage of toilets though, always lets big racing days (plate/ladies day) down.. Also the queues for bars are too long.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcastle Racecourse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Newcastle Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.