We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcastle Racecourse

Newcastle Racecourse
High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HP, England
0191 236 2020
Improve this listing
Type: Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the heart of Newcastle within the High Gosforth Park Estate, Newcastle Racecourse is one of the most popular dual code tracks in the UK. Steeped in history, we've been home to the Northumberland Plate since 1882 and host 30 race meeting per year. Newcastle racecourse is the perfect wedding location with various private rooms for your special day. The option for events and conferences is endless within the 850 acre estate and function rooms of all sizes.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went a while ago on a corporate day out and it was a memorable event. Loved the atmosphere and would love to go again maybe to Ladies Day. Who needs Ascot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    38
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

im a member as i love racing and its my local course. Experiences are mixed depending on size of the crowd so i would recommend coming on a non-festival day (not the plate or ladies day) one of the early summer evening meetings.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Expensive day out!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unless your an addicted gambler! your money could be better spent by jumping on a bus outside of the course that will take you straight into Newcastle City centre and you can do some great shopping with the money that you saved! The que for a beer was mad, and very expensive, the terrace gets red hot on a sunny day, and really not worth the bother.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“loved it was good day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

was a great experience and loved tghe little bet i put on and its a clean enviroment,people are friendly and u just felt good lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Northumberland Plate - Great Day !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went with friends for the Pitman's Derby and we had a great day. We were in the Premier Enclosure, which was well worth the £45. Although we had both rain and sunshine (Mostly Rain) it didn't deter us having a great day and embracing a big race meet. The atmosphere was amazing. The "Security Staff/Stewards" are frustrating however, but just ignore them and enjoy your day and come home up, not down, like we did. The drinks are expensive mind, and there is always a queue for the toilet. See you next year.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcastle Racecourse also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Newcastle Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcastle Racecourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.