We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a short stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a short stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay and have to say it was great, it's a small hotel but absoulety spotless. We were over for the Newcastle v West Ham game it's only 10mim walk to St James Park and city centre which was spot on, the food in the restaurant was out of this world if you like your Indian grub! Chicken tikka madras was amazing :) they also do Italian food. So overall great stay would defo stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear framer82,

Thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests on the experience during your stay.

It is nice to hear that you had the chance to dine in Luigikhan's and enjoyed your meal. We hope that the next time you visit Newcastle that we will get the opportunity to welcome you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel.

Kind Regards

Ian


Ian Nicholls
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
58
6
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a football weekend for my husband's birthday, but wanted to avoid some of the truly budget chains.

The hotel is close enough to St James's Park and the city centre that we were able to walk to both quite comfortably.

We did experience some problems with noise on the first night of our stay, but this was not the fault of the hotel - other guests drunken antics cannot always be avoided. That said, when we told the receptionist what had happened, we were moved to an upgraded room for the second night of our stay.

LuigiKhans is a really lovely place to eat and definitely worth booking a table if you have no existing plans. The food is good and reasonably priced, and the restaurant is decorated nicely.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear MunkeyD,

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests regarding their stay here with us.

I am sorry you experienced some noise from another guest, but glad that we were able to help on a room move for your second night.

Luigikhan's is a must visit for a meal, and its nice to hear that you enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Ian


Ian Nicholls
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here with the missus and her Gran for the missus birthday from the 3rd November till the 5th. The Gran stayed in room 106 while we stayed in room 206 which had the most irritating very loud running water sound for the whole of the first day and night resulting in absolutely no sleep! It was finally sorted by the time we came back from a meal out on the second night. Sadly didn't get offered anything off the bill for the lack of sleep because they apparently are not allowed to.

The rooms however are absolutely lovely, very clean and the bathrooms are very nicely decorated indeed.

Luigikhans. What can i say....Wow! Absolutely superb!!! The food here is absolutely wonderful! You should slap yourself if you stay here and fail to sample the wonderful cuisine they serve! Staff etc were superb.

Now, an issue which i see has been raised and the manager has responded tor many times is the breakfast. Its terrible! I see many posts saying for months the menu will be updated yet nothing has happened yet. Such a shame from the wonderful evening food to this.

The reception staff missing a lot of the time was annoying when we needed a taxi or other general info/help.

Other than that i would seriously recommend a stay here and we will be returning in February to hopefully a updated breakfast menu with contains bacon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear TehStiggles,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback regarding your recent stay here with us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a good night with noise of running water.

With regards to breakfast we are waiting on the menus being delived as let down by the printers. We hope to have the new menu up and running in the next week or two.

As you will have noticed that the hotel is only small with 20 bedrooms, and the reception staff often help out in the restaurant. Where a member of staff would also be able to assist with taxi's and any other info/help from there also.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel on your next trip to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Ian

Ian Nicholls
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be of a high standard. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Everyone seemed to do their best and were hard workers. A real asset to the hotel. This and the cleanliness was most important to us and was appreciated. Really nice people. Another attraction is the punjabi food. The best we have tried. If you like authentic spicy food then this is a must. Spacious rooms with modern furnishings and impressive well maintained bathrooms. We are already planning a return trip to Newcastle and will be staying at The Ryokan. The breakfast was tasty and we didn't find the portion a problem as it was enough for a breakfast. If you needed more then there was also cereal and fruit on offer. Centrally located, we didn't find the walk a problem during the day and took taxis at night. Thoroughly enjoyed, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Travelmonk01,

Many Thanks for your feedback. It is always nice to hear from guests regarding your stay. We pride ourselves on cleanliness of the hotel and for guests to feel welcome from all staff.

It is nice to hear that you tried Luigikhan's during your stay and enjoyed the food we had to offer. We are also in the process of updating our Breakfast menu to give guests a larger selection of cooked foods.

It is always nice to hear that you will return to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan hotel on your next trip to Newcastle. We look forward to welcomign you again.

If we can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards

Ian


Ian Nicholls
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel itself is well appointed but the bar is lacking sharing the same area with the restaurant.

The breakfast is truly terrible!!! I am not a big eater but the portions was miniscule; the breakfast consisted of turkey rasher (why dress up turkey to look like bacon), beef sausage, tomato mushrooms and baked beans. When I say rasher I mean one small rasher accompanied by one sausage etc. The whole thing was just tasteless why pretend to put on an english breakfast when clearly it is not. The problem was there was little alternative if there was cheeses and meat I wouldnt mind, but there was not.

I moved hotel for my second night in Newcastle!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, Hotel Management at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear DerbyHappytraveler60


Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was on the small side. I have spoken with the Chef and hopefully we Have rectified that problem. We are at present looking at adding more of a choice to the cooked breakfast selection and adding items like Omelette's, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Egg, Eggs Benedict and Grilled Kippers.
I am sorry to hear that you had to move to another hotel, I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Best Western Ryokan Hotel on your next
Visit to Newcastle

Kind Regards

Navdeep Kaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A great hotel only a short walk from the city centre though do note that it's uphill on the way back from the centre to the hotel! The Ryokan was very well presented, very clean and tidy and it looked like it might have been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, Hotel Management at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear AL1503

Many thanks for leaving some feedback regarding your recent stay with us hear at the BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel. It is always nice to hear of guest enjoying their stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel on your next visit to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Navdeep Kaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As other people have said, the rooms are a good size, the decor is nice and everything is nice and clean.

Annoying things (very minor): We were in Room 109 which is close to the kitchen so every time anyone went in and out there was a really annoying bang in the room. Also, the extractor fan in the bathroom rattled like a pneumatic drill and seemed to take 15 minutes before it switched off.

Back on the positive things: Every member of staff we met was pleasant and polite. The hotel restaurant was far far better than most hotel restaurants anywhere.

All in all a nice convenient hotel, handy for the centre

Room Tip: low numbered rooms are closer to the main road. 2nd floor higher numbers will be lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryokan358, Management at BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear KenRoss

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you experienced loud noise from the kitchen and from the extractor fan in your bathroom, we have an engineer in working on all the fans.
It is always nice to hear from guests regarding their stay at the hotel and the food in the restaurant. We look forward to being able to welcome you again to the BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel on your next visit to Newcastle.

Kind Regards

Navdeep Kaur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel

Address: 358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Ryokan Hotel is just a stone's throw from St James Park. Within a short 10 minute walk to the City Centre, to the many shops, theatres, bars and sport venues. 4 Miles from the Metro centre. The hotel is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1840, opened in 2010 and has a modern design inside, offering underfloor heating, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel FREE to all hotel guests. We pride ourselves in offering a warm and friendly Newcastle welcome to all guests, and with being a small hotel that most personal of service. While staying at the hotel you might want to try our restaurant LuigiKhan's which offers a mouth watering selection of Punjabi cuisine which is Halal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ryokan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.