We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste sensation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luigikhan's

Luigikhan's
358 Westgate Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 6NU, England
+44 (0)191 2724937
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cullercoats
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taste sensation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited Luigikhans for the first time last night, we love Indian food but really wanted to try a new venue, so after doing a little bit of research on trip advisor, we came across Luigikhans and decided to give it a go. First of all it's very easy to find and there is a car park right outside the door. The food was so delicious, portion sizes plentiful and everyone loved their meal. I chose the mixed grill... WOW! The staff are very friendly, there is a lovely ambience in the restaurant, service slightly slower but we put that down to how fresh everything tasted. We are a real foodie family and this place is a gem...We will recommend this restaurant to all our friends and the bill was very reasonable too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    35
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow service but excellent food - recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited this restaurant on bank holiday Sunday, it was recommended by the taxi driver. The restaurant is very clean and modern and the staff are very friendly, the food is excellent and very reasonably priced, the only thing that spoilt our evening was the slow service, on the night we visited it was fairly quiet however we waited over half an hour for our starters and nearly one hour for our main course. The manager provided us with a drink on the house which was a nice gesture. Overall this is an excellent restaurant with only the slow service letting it down. Saying that I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were looking for somewhere different as we have eaten at a lot of indian restaurants in Newcastle and we found Luigikhans on trip advisor. I have to say the service was brilliant, the food was excellent, the portions were huge although we managed to clear the table! We will definitely be visiting the restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My second visit to this eatery was as enjoyable as always. Food almost perfect balance of spices to suit my palate. Attractive ambience to match food quality. Need to improve on service which is polite but I had to ask for everything no anticipation for simple stuff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really tasty food and huge portions,We stayed at the hotel attached to the restaurant. We started with poppadoms and pickle, not your normal pickle selection with some added extras, different, mains came in big bowls full of flavor and quantity, prices were very good and staff very friendly.
If i lived in Newcastle, it would defo be on my last for a return visit

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigikhan's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Luigikhan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigikhan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.