We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Vina - Grey St Newcastle

La Vina - Grey St Newcastle
42-50 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6AE, England
+44 191 260 3533
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The newest addition to our family of 5 restaurants, La Vina Newcastle is nestled just a stone's throw from the buzz of the city centre. A relaxed retreat from the bustle of Grey Street above, this secluded subterranean gem will give you the warmest of Mediterranean welcomes. Whether you're unwinding after work with one of our exquisite wines, en-route to the nearby theatre or seeking a hub for throwing a sincerely Spanish fiesta, La Vina Newcastle offers you a finer-dining experience. Our chefs are passionate about their food, freshly preparing our dishes using only the finest ingredients, seducing your senses time after time. Softly lit and soaked in ambience, we also have a stylish private room for exclusive entertaining....Whether for business or pleasure!
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great service! Seven of us dropped in without a reservation and the staff made us very welcome. Within about 5-10 minutes we were sat with menus and recommendations. I would definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    107
    31
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Excellent value pre theatre menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There is a lot of confusion here on TripAdvisor about this place.
1. The "description" relates to Zizzi - a totally different establishment on Grey Street.
2. This place used to be called La Vina before being taken over by La Tasca (of which there is another branch on Quayside) but has regained its independence and resumend the name of La Vina.
We have been several times and always been delighted. Most recent visit was on the way to the theatre and we saw and took advantage of pre - theatre tapas menu for £8.95. It offers great value and was nicely prepared and served. Totally reommend this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as other La Tascas!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've dined here on a number of occasions - with friends, family and my boyfriend. On my most recent visit I was less impressed than usual - while the food is consistently good in La Tasca, the service was slow and the waiter had very little interest in his customers, from the impression I got. We were rushed to pay the bill and all in all he wasn't very friendly.

Disappointing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went here for dinner with a friend recently. There weren't many people in at the time which should have given the staff plenty of time to provide a swift service. The menu looked great and we decided to share some tapas. The waiting staff were friendly throughout but I'm not convinced they have being doing it for long. Our drink order was taken and no drinks arrived. Another waitress came to ask us for our drink order; we explained we had already ordered. She went away to search for our drinks and around ten minutes after this we finally got our drinks. We ordered our food and then had another wait on our hands. We ordered some bread and once that was eaten there was around a twenty minute wait for our tapas to arrive.
The food was nice though I've had better tapas in Newcastle. I'd consider going back but not for a while - they clearly need some practice in serving.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

As a tapas restaurant this is better than the commercial chains, which this was for a short while. The food is tasty and well presented the staff helpful. In our case we had not booked and we were looking for a per show meal and they found us a table and made sure we had our food in good time to get to the show.

If there was one complaint is was that we could not add the drinks we had at the bar while waiting for a table to the bill. I am certain that this can be organised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vina - Grey St Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to La Vina - Grey St Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vina - Grey St Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.