We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay: Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Newcastle to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent stay: Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my first visit to the Staybridge Suites at Newcastle upon Tyne. The location is not too bad with excellent on site parking (£8 per day but cost reduces the longer you stay). The River Tyne is a short walk away and you can walk into Newcastle City Centre within 10 minutes.

The staff are welcoming and attentive and the room I was given on the third floor was a one bedroom suite. This was well appointed with good furnishings. Essentially it was a one bedroom flat complete with fitted kitchen (including dishwasher).

Wifi is available throughout the hotel and this is complimentary as is the daily breakfast. As I'd been travelling on business prior to arriving in Newcastle I took advantage of the excellent laundry facilities on the ground floor - lots of washing machines and tumble dryers. There is a well equipped gym on the ground floor as well as a small shop.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying away on business as it really is like a home from home. For those looking for a base in the city it would be excellent for a city break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor (towards the River Tyne) have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    179
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
429
64
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountsorrel, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What can I say after three visits to this hotel I felt that a review was needed by myself!
The beds are great, rooms are modern and fully equipped with everything that you need for a short or long stay and bathroom and shower is great too, we have also had great views of the tyne bridge every visit! Breakfast excellent with lots of choices and staff are happy and very helpful also not forgetting to mention the gym mad as it may seem I did have one workout and it was great to have that choice

Room Tip: All room are good but ask for a view of Tyne bridge if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From arrival to departure it was a fantastic stay,friendly staff on arrival, really helpfull and had a sense of humour. Suite immaculate, had a takeawat recomended by hotel, even that was first class.
Really quite in hotel, inclusive breakfast was really good, my stay was that good I have just booked two rooms in December for two nights. Cannot say enough about how good it was. One point, I think parking should be included. I stay in hotels every week, wish Staybridge was in more citys in UK.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Staybridge Suites is located close to the city centre- a short walk to Millenium bridge. We were on the 6th (top) floor with excellent views of the quayside. The room was lovely and spacious, very comfortable beds, good quality furnishings and even a small kitchen area if needed. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. The staff were all extremely pleasant and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor (floor 6) and ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surry, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My employer sent me to Northern England for training and set my accommodations at the Staybridge Suites in Newcastle, for 3 months. I cant imagine I would have had a better time anywhere else. The staff was so great and I even had the privilege of developing friendships with a few of them. The rooms were well equipped and maintained. There is a great selection of foods to choose from for breakfast and the manager's receptions are really cool, too. I also found the location to be in a good spot, as well, being just minutes from the Quayside and the city. The only real downside was the laundry facility or "socks and smalls". Having been there for that long of a period, I found the laundry facility to be a bit inadequate. You have to time it just right or you'll be waiting all night for your laundry to dry.
Overall, I had a great time there and do hope that if I ever go back I'll have the opportunity to stay at the Staybridge Suites.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is were I stay when ever in Newcastle.
They are fully serviced luxury apartments in the centre of Newcastle city centre.
When I stayed, there was a managers meet and greet evening with free food and wine/beer.
I normally stay on business but wouldn't hesitate to stay for leisure.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just got back from an overnight stay here with my boyfriend, and we both loved our trip. This hotel is simply amazing! Comfy beds, great showers and fantastic views! It really does feel like a home from home. The breakfast was really good and had a really wide range of things, we were spoiled for choice! The pantry offered a wide range of things you could buy as well which was really handy. The staff there were really friendly and were always on hand to help us with whatever we needed.

Room Tip: a room on the 5th or 6th floor with a riverview offer really fantastic views of the city, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Newcastle

Address: Buxton Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Staybridge Suites Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all-suite, extended-stay hotel that caters to guests looking for just one night, one week or longer. Whether relocating to the area, on a project, in training, or in need of a hotel, Staybridge Suites Newcastle is the ideal place to stay. Staybridge Suites Newcastle is located just moments from the Quayside area, with its excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Within walking distance is the Millennium Bridge, Baltic Centre, Tyne Bridge and the eye-catching Sage Gateshead. The city centre location of Staybridge Suites Newcastle puts all of the major business and leisure attractions of Newcastle within easy reach, including the many shops and restaurants around Eldon Square, the Theatre Royal, Centre for Life and Newcastle and Northumbria Universities. Staybridge Suites Newcastle offer 2 types of suites: Studio and One-Bedroom, many with stunning views of the Quayside area and the Millennium Bridge. All suites are furnished to a high standard; containing a fully equipped kitchen, living room area, work space, flat screen TV with over 100 TV and radio channels including Sky Sports and JSTV and complimentary high speed Wi-Fi Internet. Hotel amenities include a 24-HR manned reception, complimentary breakfast, on site convenience shop, fitness room, IHG Rewards points and complimentary guest laundry room. Join us for complimentary guest evening receptions (Tuesday-Thursday) serving drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.