We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Consistant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin Bistro

Hotel du Vin Bistro
City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
+44 191 229 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hotel du Vin Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $21 - $61
Cuisines: French, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle is situated on the banks of the River Tyne and commanding outstanding views of Newcastle Quayside and bridges. Moments from Newcastle city centre, this former home of the Tyne Tees Steam Shipping Company has been gloriously converted into 42 timelessly styled bedrooms, trademark bistro, intriguing Laroche tasting room, two stunning private dining rooms, Bubble bar, courtyard for alfresco dining and an outstanding wine cellar. The charismatic city with its many bridges, also offers many new sights, sounds and experiences, you'll be amazed at how much is on offer whatever your tastes. World-class culture, vibrant nightlife, award-winning dining, inspiring heritage, fantastic shopping and acclaimed architecture are linked here, as nowhere else, by the famous Geordie spirit which flows throughout NewcastleGateshead and is symbolised by Antony Gormley's iconic Angel of the North as it welcomes travellers to the area. A spirit that flows through this stunning hotel in Newcastle.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,094 reviews 1,094 reviews
808 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
“Comfy and Consistant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Even though I live in Newcastle I've stayed at the hotel for my partners birthday and dined in the restaurant many times both experiences are always a treat. However now and a agian we have business meetings here and the staff are just as professional. All types of coffees are strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great comments. It's lovelyto hear from such a seasoned reviewer!

Great to hear you enjoy the coffee!

Hope to see you soon whether it be business or pleasure,

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    50
    27
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I ate here a few months ago whilst enjoying a single night's stay and the food was simply amazing. The restaurant was fairly empty (it was midweek) but the atmosphere was still enjoyable. Staff were attentive, polite and informative. All three courses were perfect and came within reasonable time. Would love to go back again soon but I can't afford to eat at places like this often! If you're treating yourself it's definitely worth paying Hotel du Vin a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi,

Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. I have been sure to pass them onto the team.

Don't leave it too long until your next visit!

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

went for sunday brunch with 15 other very rowdy friends in december. Was blown away by food and service. Great VFM. Enjoyed it so much we returned on 5th January but stayed the night before and had dinner. We shared the chateaubriand. The table adjacent to us were served our food by error but the staff couldnt have been more apologetic and quickly solved the issue. The rooms were lovely very warm and cosy so much so we missed breakfast probably a good thing as our family were joining us for Sunday Brunch. I cant recomend this meal enough but please make sure your hungry. I would go every week but wouldnt enjoy it as much if we did! Booked again for next month.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your lovely comments. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed.

I hope you enjoyed your most recent visit and we look forward to seeing you back soon,

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch is the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked Hotel du Vin for my birthday in Dec 2013. Visited on Sunday for the Sunday Brunch, never been before so didn't know to expect.

Arrived early and had drinks in reception area with log fire burning.

Went through for dinner and the room was fully, shown to our table and the waiter explained the menu. only one person had the soup but that didn't stop the rest of the party waiting for the next course the Market Table - you can visit this as many times as you want before you are ready for your main course.

The Market Table has meats, bread, crabs, prawns, salad to choose from if your not sure of what something is the lovely waiter is on hand to let you know.

Mains Sunday Roast, Burger, Steak or a Pie could either be fish or meat

Puddings lots to choose from.

Really enjoyed and would go back again for the Sunday Brunch for 4 courses you cant go wrong with £22.95. You need to book


Visited again in Jan 2014 as had a voucher given at last visit for £20.00 off, with a different group and this time we were allocated one of the private rooms which was lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments following your visit. Your kind words have been passed onto the team. It's great to hear you have been back since. Our private dining rooms are a real treat.

Hope to see you back in the bistro before too long,

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So disappointing! Poor service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited last night and each member in our party ordered three courses. The restaurant looked lovely and the atmosphere was great. However, the food was average and the service was slow. We had to ask for our drinks several times and remind the waitress of our order. It was virtually impossible to catch the eye of the waiting staff. The onion soup was so dry it was like a stew and the corned beef hash came without any sauce and the yolk of the duck egg was completely hard. I think it had been left under the hot lamp waiting to be served and it had been overlooked. We tried to complain but we couldn't get anyone's attention. They added a service charge to the bill and I would not have paid it but I think the person who was footing the bill was too embarrassed to say anything. There was no order to the coat hanging situation - we had to personally search 3 different overladen coat stands to find our coats. I expected the best for these prices and we left very disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVRobTait, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Bistro, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to comment following your visit. I'm sorry to hear there were a few issues experienced.

We have recently employed some brilliant new staff, gone through some comprehensive training with all the team and your comments on the food have been passed directly to the head chef. We will also look into organising the cloak room better.

Your comments are very much appreciated,

Warm regards,

Rob Tait

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel du Vin Bistro also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Hotel du Vin Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.