We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedgefield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hedgefield House Hotel to your Saves list
Hedgefield House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Stella Road, Blaydon on Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne NE21 4LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic value at double the price, took a while to find but worth it when I did. Room spotless, service excellent, lovely character property. Highly recommended, will be back, I'm sure, and will bring my wife next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
49
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hedgefield House is in a beatiful location very convenient for travelling to either Northumberland or Durham. It is spotlessly clean and very comfotable. The first time we stayed there we were in a sumptuous room on the first floor with en`suite facilities, this, our second visit we were on the ground floor and although we had no en`suite we had our own shower room, right next door to the bedroom , which wasn`t a problem (we felt as though we had our own small apartment)The breakfast was ,as a continental style, was adequate for us and was taken in a very pleasant room. Overall we enjoyed our week`end stay and would recommend Hedgefield House to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

On the face of it Hedgefield house is an ideal get away from it place.Its in a quiet location standing in its own grounds and the house itself is beautifully furnished and exudes the air of a country house hotel. Our ground floor double room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom described as en suite was in fact outside the bedroom area down a step and along a short sloping corridor which at night could be tricky to negotiate. The bathroom itself was quite large and the shower room large. However the shower unit whilst very modern turned out to be tricky to control temperature wise. Also there were no tooth mugs or glasses a surprising omission.
There was a modern although small flat screen TV in the bedroom and there was a small wardrobe unit which was not big enough to hang a ladies dress properly. The main fault with the bedroom was whilst it had net curtains it only had wooden folding shutters which made a poor job of keeping the light out and in June you need proper curtains for this.
Our biggest complaint was the breakfast. If you like a cooked breakfast then forget it because the Hedgefield House serves what it describes as a continental breakfast. If we had been aware I doubt we would have stayed and the other guests too were somewhat taken aback. I have stayed all over Europe and can categorically state that what they serve does not come anywhere near the standard required.There were no fresh bread rolls no fresh cold meats or cheeses and only one fruit juice option.You could order croissant or toast but this should have been readily available.Also the coffee was poor.This place could offer a really great experience but it falls down badly. No proper breakfast is a travesty in an english country house hotel in my opinion!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joedog1, Owner at Hedgefield House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so glad that you liked the setting and luxurious furnishings. Also the comfortable bed. However, I am upset and hurt that you chose to misrepresent so many other aspects of the guest accommodation. Other guests did ask why you seemed so miserable. I can only assume it was for personal reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I would definitely stay here again because house and gardens were beautiful and in a convenient location at a good price. However bathroom was not up to standard of rest of room and house, shower was 'plastic', very small and only a dribble of hot water. It was good value but personally I would have paid a few pounds more for a more comprehensive breakfast, not necessarily a cooked one but some variety other than cereals toast or croissant. Service was excellent throughout.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location is great, just outside Newcastle/Gateshead, and peaceful. The room was large, as was the bathroom. The shower was great, a large cascade type, and the bathroom was warm. Comfortable bed and a great cooked breakfast made this a relaxing business trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I travel a lot with work and as I am self employed just looking for somewhere clean and tudy to get my head down for a few hours while on the road I regularly look for budget hotels and price is important. I have stayed in some really overpriced horrible Hotels lately and was beginning to think that decent and cheap accom was becoming a rarity in the UK these days with so many (even big chain) Hotels being poorly maintained and overpriced.. until I came across this little gem.

As we all know descriptions and pictures can all to often be out of date, misleading and sometimes even just complete lies. I have looked at and booked Hotels thinking they are great then simply been shocked at how appalling they are when I arrive. The Hedgefield House Hotel looked great, sounded great, ideally located, rated 4 star and at just £55 per night including high speed unlimited wifi, breakfast and tea / coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits and mints it seemed like maybe another tall story which would prove to be a let down. None the less I booked and we headed off to Newcastle. WOW when we arrived we were shocked to see the views from the bottom of the drive and the climb up to the property through the wonderful landscaped gardens. The owner (David) was on hand to greet us personally, carry our bags to our room and offer us information and a friendly chat. The room, although small, was bright, clean, well equipped and had great views over the grounds.

This really is an unbelievable place at this price, cannot recommend enough, the attention to detail throughout and the way the management conduct their Hotel business is second to none. From someone who stays in much higher priced Hotels offered by large chains with shabby rooms and poor service, this is how Hotels should be and many of the large Hotel companies have a lot to learn from this place. There are great views from the dining room and due to the location all rooms are quiet and not a single noise from traffic or any other kind of disturbance. There is even a small gym and spa. I never had time to try them but based on the attention to detail throughout the rest of the property I would say these facilities will also be superbly maintained and clean (even the greenhouse in one of the gardens looked as if it belonged in a garden show!).

If I am honest these rooms should be priced much higher I doubt there is another Hotel of this quality at this price anywhere in the UK. All in all a great experience with not a single complaint, I hope to be able to stay here again some day soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Myself and 4 other friends booked to stay here for 1 night. We enquired over the phone prior to booking - very helpful, polite and provided information on taxi fayres into the town centre etc. We travelled to newcastle train station and jumped into a taxi to take us to the hotel and the journey was approx 5mins and cost £10.40. On arrival we were warmly welcomed , although we were left confused when he asked us if we were a hen party....he had passed comment that there was a group of girls the previous weekend that had said they were only there for a quiet weekend and it turned out to be that they were on a hen party and they were 'wild' and made a mess of the rooms! we, as a group would of prefferred to be told that this hotel was not suitable for the 'younger' generation who would be coming in early hours making a noise. (although the mess and noise was not our intention) however, we were shown our rooms..absolutely stunning and the cleanliness was to a high standard! there was a shared bathroom but this did not cause any problems. only continental breakfast on offer, lovely selection but hot breakfast would be a winning choice! struggled to find our way back to the hotel due to taxi drivers not being aware of where this hotel was. unfortunately we got a taxi driver who took us to the wrong place twice...and our taxi fayre ended up at being £16. we met the cleaner on the sunday morning and she was lovely!!!

NEGATIVES on the room & bathroom
-plug sockets very low to the ground so we were unable to plug anythin in, we had to use the extension.
-a few of us left on the sunday with numerous bruises due to the corners on the bottom of the beds
- lighting not so bright
- shower kept going from red hot to stone cold
- not enough toilet roll provided in the bathroom

POSITIVES on the room and bathroom.
- extremely comfortable and clean bedding
- sufficient welcome pack (lovely biscuits!!)
- large storage space, drawers/wardrobe
- bathroom just lovely...spotless!!

all in all, great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedgefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedgefield House Hotel

Address: Stella Road, Blaydon on Tyne, Newcastle upon Tyne NE21 4LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hedgefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Georgian Mansion standing in four acres of beautiful wooded gardens.The house is situated on the edge of the Northumbrian countryside, yet only minutes from Newcastle City Centre and it's lively Quayside and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hedgefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedgefield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.