We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Allan House, City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful building just set back from the quay. The rooms are spacious with large ensuites. The staff are excellent, all very friendly and welcoming. Would have no worries recommending the hotel to people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    111
    45
    20
    6
See reviews for
32
277
12
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the hotel du vin's Sunday Supplement special offer, where by you get a cheap room so long as you spend a certain amount in the restaurant. As both the rooms and food here at really top notch it's a bargain and well worth looking out for.
Have stayed in a suite and a regular room, both luxurious and love the freebie bathroom goodies. Very quiet, great food and wine, helpful staff, gorgeous sexy room...what more do you need for a break with the Mrs!

Room Tip: Higher up maybe better, as there is a busy road outside. But we've never been effected by noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at this hotel. They have converted a characterful building to create the hotel but because the day to day maintenance and service are poor, the whole comes across as pretentious.

My complaints are as follows:-

1. The corridor providing access to the rooms at ground floor level had a terrible pong. I would say there was a problem with the drains.

2. The corridors were cold - there were no visible heaters.

3. My room at the top floor at the front was freezing cold. After I complained the staff tried to sort this but it took until 3am or so to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

4. The lighting in the room was ideal for a honeymoon couple (say) but was hopeless for me as a business visitor having to read through papers after dinner. The room had a desk in the darkest part. I asked for a table lamp or similar, was promised one but none arrived.

5. The food was poor. My starter, a soufflé, was stodgy rather than light and fluffy. My main course of steak hache was grizzly meat, badly presented and offensive in taste. I pointed out the problem with the soufflé but heard nothing. When the main was poor I gave up and did not bother with pudding or indeed breakfast the following morning.

From comments made by front desk staff, the place was probably under-staffed but there was a surfeit of people in the restaurant who did little but engage in their own banter and tittle tattle.

I recommend that this place is avoided.

Kishandes, Maidstone, Kent, UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is nit my first visit to this hotel, and certainly won't be my last.everything about HdV screams style and chic. Service is impeccable, friendly to the extreme. From reception you get instant sense of style and design, perfect mix of gentleman club leather and feminine chandelier, steel and flame. Dining is great, although service can be slow, and I a determined to map my diary to fit in a sommelier or cigar event at some point.

Then the rooms. Wow factor and my favourite thing is every visit I get to try a new one. Not having a favourite room here is indicative of how each is different, all great i their own rights. Roll top baths, monsoon showers, super king sleight beds and four posters, in room Nespresso....the only trouble is leaving. Best hotel in Newcastle, by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we visited this hotel for the first time and can highly recomend it from the reception to the restaurant staff the service to attention and detail was excellant. The dinner served in the Bistro was first class and one of the best meals we have had out for a long time. With a very good wine menu. We can recomend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Our room "TORRES " was very good and very peacefull with good views up the river Tyne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham,england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel;a complimentary upgrade to the Henley Vineyards room certainly did not disappoint! Everything from the entire staff,food quality and housekeeping made for a most enjoyable and relaxing stay;do not stay anywhere else in Newcastle,I am Princess Picky and I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Have previously stayed at the hotel and paid for the dinner bed and breakfast. On the Internet it states 3 course al a carte with 1 side and coffee. Previously this is what we got and were told you could order anything from the menu. However this time we were advised that we had a limit of £40 each and anything mover we had to pay for. This is fine but it is not what was described on the Internet offer. The room itself was good and the food we ate was fantastic. My husband went for the festive menu and I opted for the dressed crab to start then the filet steak, both were fantastic. The hotel is a little out of the way but if you are looking for a chill out and good food this is the place to come....I would recommend is place..we have booked for feb 2013...but if you have booked food as well please beware if the hidden costs

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House, City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.