We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor performance by a chain with a good reputation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Allan House, City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor performance by a chain with a good reputation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at this hotel. They have converted a characterful building to create the hotel but because the day to day maintenance and service are poor, the whole comes across as pretentious.

My complaints are as follows:-

1. The corridor providing access to the rooms at ground floor level had a terrible pong. I would say there was a problem with the drains.

2. The corridors were cold - there were no visible heaters.

3. My room at the top floor at the front was freezing cold. After I complained the staff tried to sort this but it took until 3am or so to get the room to a reasonable temperature.

4. The lighting in the room was ideal for a honeymoon couple (say) but was hopeless for me as a business visitor having to read through papers after dinner. The room had a desk in the darkest part. I asked for a table lamp or similar, was promised one but none arrived.

5. The food was poor. My starter, a soufflé, was stodgy rather than light and fluffy. My main course of steak hache was grizzly meat, badly presented and offensive in taste. I pointed out the problem with the soufflé but heard nothing. When the main was poor I gave up and did not bother with pudding or indeed breakfast the following morning.

From comments made by front desk staff, the place was probably under-staffed but there was a surfeit of people in the restaurant who did little but engage in their own banter and tittle tattle.

I recommend that this place is avoided.

Kishandes, Maidstone, Kent, UK

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    131
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
37
314
12
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is nit my first visit to this hotel, and certainly won't be my last.everything about HdV screams style and chic. Service is impeccable, friendly to the extreme. From reception you get instant sense of style and design, perfect mix of gentleman club leather and feminine chandelier, steel and flame. Dining is great, although service can be slow, and I a determined to map my diary to fit in a sommelier or cigar event at some point.

Then the rooms. Wow factor and my favourite thing is every visit I get to try a new one. Not having a favourite room here is indicative of how each is different, all great i their own rights. Roll top baths, monsoon showers, super king sleight beds and four posters, in room Nespresso....the only trouble is leaving. Best hotel in Newcastle, by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we visited this hotel for the first time and can highly recomend it from the reception to the restaurant staff the service to attention and detail was excellant. The dinner served in the Bistro was first class and one of the best meals we have had out for a long time. With a very good wine menu. We can recomend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Our room "TORRES " was very good and very peacefull with good views up the river Tyne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham,england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our fourth visit to this hotel;a complimentary upgrade to the Henley Vineyards room certainly did not disappoint! Everything from the entire staff,food quality and housekeeping made for a most enjoyable and relaxing stay;do not stay anywhere else in Newcastle,I am Princess Picky and I love it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Have previously stayed at the hotel and paid for the dinner bed and breakfast. On the Internet it states 3 course al a carte with 1 side and coffee. Previously this is what we got and were told you could order anything from the menu. However this time we were advised that we had a limit of £40 each and anything mover we had to pay for. This is fine but it is not what was described on the Internet offer. The room itself was good and the food we ate was fantastic. My husband went for the festive menu and I opted for the dressed crab to start then the filet steak, both were fantastic. The hotel is a little out of the way but if you are looking for a chill out and good food this is the place to come....I would recommend is place..we have booked for feb 2013...but if you have booked food as well please beware if the hidden costs

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Paid a discounted rate so v good value. Terrace room means its smoker friendly. Fantastic food and breakfast cooked to order (allow time!). Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Happy to bring European visitor here. Great to relax in a deep big bath watching TV after a long drive. Minibar choices excellent with great snacks too. Location is waiting for the rest of the area to catchup! No shops bars or restaurants in immediate area. But in summer would be an easy walk to the quayside. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked a mezzanine suite, which was beautiful. Although, in the evening when going to shower there was a horrible smell. We called room services and the hotel representative came to our room and agreed there was an awful smell coming from the shower. He admitted that it usually came from that side of the hotel, and that he will make a report and show to management the following morning. We were not given the choice to change rooms.

The following morning when settling the bill, the management showed terrible customer service while why asked about our room situation. Usually, when you book an expensive room but the facilities are not satisfactory hotels offer financial relief to customers - as it is not our fault you hotel room stinks! After much arguing about customer service principle with the arrogant staff they offered £20. What do you think that sounds like for not being able to take a nice shower, in a premium room booked and paid to have luxurious baths and showers in?

We are have stayed at leading hotels around the world, luxury B&B's, and everything in between. And we just do not find the value or luxury within this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle

Address: Allan House, City Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2BE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Newcastle
Du Vin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.