We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and still very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Vivo

Caffe Vivo
29 Broad Chare | Quayside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3DQ, England
0191 232 1331
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Vivo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Manors
Description: Italian at heart, the mood at the Quayside Caffe Vivo is lively, the style relaxed. Cafe by day, simple supper place at night, it's food is honest, joyful and full of sunshine.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“2nd time and still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved it the first time so made a beeline when we were back in town. My wife is Italian and knows when she eats authentic cooking from her homeland. We love the bread, freshly made by their sister resturant.

The food again was good, the fritto misto was very fresh, the simple spaghetti pomodoro was no let down.

Overall we felt that the food and service and prices are on one level but the decor does not match this. The caffe in the name is not wrong, that is the feel. I think if the decor was stepped up a level people would feel they were getting the full experience. All of this said, we still very much enjoyed ourselves hence the four stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    78
    36
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and nice ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ate here on a Friday evening - we didn't have a reservation but able to get a table despite the restaurant being quite busy. No complaints at all about the food - very well cooked and a good sized portions. Plenty of choice from both specials and the main menu. Only problem was the service - we waited about 45 minutes for the main course. Having said that, the manager responded well. He was very apologetic - gave us desserts on the house and knocked the service charge off the bill. I assume there was a problem in the kitchen that night and wouldn't hold it against them! Would certainly return if I am in Newcastle again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Style AND substance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent service and food, great location. This is ideally placed for pre-show meals when visiting the Sage.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Second time of trying, and this place still doesn't excite.
Limited choice on the specials menu, and otherwise overpriced.
Portion sizes were a bit small.
Looks good from the street, but venue is cramped once you get seated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the antipasti!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Other reviews seem to be complaining about the portion size - they obviously didn't try the antipasti misto - the portion for 2 could have served 4 for a starter or 2 for a main. Fantastic choice of goodies and well worth the money. Rest of dinner was very good - mainly ate off the specials and everyone was happy with their food.
Was happy to see they serve Dolcetti - a mini dessert and coffee, however after ploughing through the antipasti, I couldnt even manage that.
Service friendly and reasonably attentive. Busy and a little noisy but a generally really enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Vivo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Caffe Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Vivo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.