We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn

Corner House Hotel   A Good Night Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn to your Saves list
Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn
Heaton Road | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fife,scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I travelled with a group of six women for a birthday night out in Newcastle. We were not sure if we were going to make it as the weather the day before had been terrible and all trains to Newcastle from Scotland had been cancelled. We called the hotel and we were told not to worry, that if we couldn't make it our card would not be charged, which was great. Trains were on later that evening so we made it to Newcastle no problem. Arrived and were promptly checked in. We were pleasantly surprised the rooms were newly refurbished and the en suite bathroom was huge! The only thing I would say I'd that the bathroom could do with a mirror. The beds are soooo comfortable, did not want to get up in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Angela, who could not do enough to help us. (thanks for getting us taxi's) we had a meal before we went out and the food was fine. Breakfast was great, just what we needed after a night out on the tiles. The locals were very friendly and told us where to head for a good night out. Would definitely recommend the Cornerhouse and will certainly book again if they will have us, lol.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear gillm

Thanks for taking the time to provide your review, we were pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay at the Corner House and that the team were able to add to your experience.

We have passed your comments onto the manager so that he may share them with the team.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
32
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Super friendly, super handy to town and the bus routes, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Breakfast was included in the tariff, and the staff were possibly he most obliging I have ever come across; northern hospitality rules!
Do bear in mind, this is a pub, so Friday and Saturday nights get a little noisy but aside from that, it gets the nod from us!

Room Tip: As far away from the bandstand as you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Lovely big bar, plenty of choice to drink/eat. The location is brilliant, Minutes on a bus into the town

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to the Corner House all of them due to our works Xmas party being held there.

We've had the opportunity of trying 3 different rooms including the 4 Poster room, the 'Family' room and this standard double. This was easily the smallest of the rooms we've been allocated, the bed was alongside a wall which didn't help late night access ;-).

Tea & Coffee making facilities were provided and appreciated as was the freeview TV. The room was very cold when we arrived as the heating had been switched off, when switched back on the small radiator didn't have the power to heat the room efficiently as it was directly below the window (secondary glazing rather than double glazing) and any heat went straight behind the curtain.

We paid around £79 for room only which we thought was a little overpriced compared to similar accommodation we've stayed in elsewhere.

Overall the room did it's job - somewhere to stay after a good night out.

Room Tip: Always ask for the 4 Poster room (I think it was room 7) it's the same price but much nicer than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Just had the worst Christmas Dinner absolutely shocking! Garlic mushrooms were tasty but I think all they used was one mushroom... Then roast beef for the main.. The roast potatoes looked and tasted if they had been cooked for hours. The beef was not fresh and tasted like prepacked supermarket sliced plastic beef, and when I say "tasted" there was no taste. The vegetables were so few and overcooked. The only good thing was the frozen yorkshire pudding. The only memorable thing of this meal was 3 hours later when I was ill. All in all I would not recommend this for an ejoyable meal. The only good thing I have to say about this place is the staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Don't book for a Fri/Sat if you would like to use your room to sleep in because you won't be able to use it for that purpose. Obviously used asaplace to crash when you come back from anight out clubbing. People knocked on our door about 5 times asking if this was their friends room. Although I think no matter what day you chose to stay you still wouldn't sleep because of the horrible mattress, I kept rolling into the middle, room possibly used for many single occupants who like to sleep in the middle.

Room is very small, you have to 'shimmy' past the desk and wardrobe to get to the other side of the bed. Although the TV looked nice, it was no use to use because there was no reception for any of the channels, it kept jumping.

Was freezing in the room as I didn't dare switch on the electric heater as it gave off a horrible burning smell, I don't know why central heating is out of the question.

Plus side was it was clean and furniture was not too 'out-of-date' looking.

Next time (although it was close to friends) will not be staying here again i'd rather pay £100 for a lovely room with breakfast in Jesmond rather than £65 w/o breakfast here.

Room Tip: I've heard the rooms locatedaway from the main road are quieter, but it wasn't the outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Room was so tiny, eleven walls in the room. Two single beds, should only have had one for size. "nd day there arrived back at 4pm beds not made, room not serviced, When queried was told if it was not done by 11am would not be done that day. I infomed the staff I went out at 10am. They promised it would be done when we got back in that evening. Still not done.Ended up making bed mayself and asking for towels and tea and coffee. Had been advised to eat at restaurant, DONT get the expensive dishes, my steak was so stringy it could have held the washing up and partners pie, he could not even cut the pastry with a steak knife. It was awful and we just got an apology. Cheap 2 for £9 meals seem to being going down well. Thermostat of heating in the room did not work so room was either boiling hot or cold. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not accept Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn

Address: Heaton Road | Heaton, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner House Hotel a Good Night Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner House Hotel A Good Night Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.