We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent displays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great North Museum

The Great North Museum
Barras Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 4PT, England
0191 222 6765
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent displays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

i regularly take my 3 year old daughter to this museum and she loves it! Will be back very soon and the bonus is that it is free!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent if you're taking the family or looking around on your own. Take your time through all the exhibits (I loved watching the schoolkids watching the snakes!) and enjoy something to eat there also. I was there while a friend had a small date with the RVI and spent a lovely 2-3 hrs while waiting for her.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Free and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very nice museum specially for children.
The permanent exposition is free.
There is a nice variety of attractions like Egyptian mummies
and pieces of Romanian Empire.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

First Class museum. Loved the Planetarium. The kept loads of exhibits from the old museums including the Egyptian mummies. Our grandchildren loved the museum.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick tour around the Hancock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A beautiful location and building. My son and I enjoyed walking around this museum, but allow no more than 1.5 hours as there is only 2 floors. Lots of resources and items to view. Well worth a look. ;-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great North Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Great North Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great North Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Great North Museum to your Saves list