We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puccini's

Puccini's
Pudding Chare, Newcastle upon Tyne ne1 1uf, England
0191 2321961
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been visiting here about once a month or so for a few years now, but for some reason I've never written a review - time to put that right, I think.
The setting (just off Newcastle's Bigg Market) isn't ideal for a night-time visit, as this area gets very "lively", to put it politely. However, the restaurant itself is a very pleasant, basement-level establishment with subdued lighting and a warm, intimate feel to it. The staff are genuinely welcoming and friendly, and the service efficient. There are a range of menus to suit various pockets (all good value) and times of day, and blackboards with the current "specials" listed on them. We usually go on Saturday lunchtimes and have a 3-course lunch (coffee counts as a course on the menu option we choose). We would both recommend the soups here - they are always delicious, and, while Minestrone is usually available, the soups of the day are interestingly varied - chorizo and tomato was one we had not too long ago. In all the times we have been here, we have never had cause for complaint, which is why we keep going back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    46
    26
    19
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, great value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely food, traditional style Italian restaurant - not a great location, you have to walk through a battlezone of drunken louts and yobs to get there, but once you're in there it's a pleasant little safe haven of warmth and good company. Plenty of space for large groups as well as lots of smaller spaces for couples. The food, however, is what you go here for. Lovely bolognese pizza - that's all I can say! So much so we order take-out ones quite regularly instead of regular greasy pizza places elsewhere in town! They're far better quality - far better value and far tastier too. Recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stuff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Yes it looks a bit outdated and not the poshest restaurant in town, but the food is excellent, staff lovely and prices fantastic.

I have been going to Puccini's for years with family and friends and will continue to do so.

Keep up the good work

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Absolutely disgusting! The cook (no-one could ever call him/her a chef) has obviously never set foot in Italy. The staff are just about OK but the restaurant looks like they bought a job lot of chairs from a closing down function room. I took one look at the anaemic chips and pizza (strange combination) the other diners were having and though that it didn't look good - I ordered a salmon rissotto which was more like rice pudding which I left most of and I've yet to taste any or find much salmon in the dish. The starter was pre-bought in fried mozarella - obviously not freshly made. I would never set foot in this restaurant again. I had been before and although not fabulous it was definately better than my latest (and last) experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindapNewcastle, Owner at Puccini's, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We at Puccini are sorry to hear that your meal was disappointing and not to your liking, however we are amiss as how you could not decide the gender of our chefs (all male) as it is an open kitchen. The Mozzarella Fritta that you had for your starter, the cheese is 100% buffalo mozzarella which is home-made bread crumbed on the premises (which can be viewed by the public as our kitchen is an open one). We use arborio rice which is the traditional risotto rice as well as fresh salmon & prawns. As for our choice of chairs we did not purchase them in a job lot they were chosen for comfort.

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place, people and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and the wife always pop in to Puccini's and have Ben going there for years. Awesome food, people and atmosphere. Huge choice, big portions and great value!

Love it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini's also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Puccini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puccini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.