We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't have the pork” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro FORTY6

Bistro FORTY6
46 Brentwood Avenue, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 3DH, England (Formerly Bruges)
+44 191 281 8081
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A superb modern European bistro with a lovely atmosphere and great staff. Our amazing food is prepared fresh to order with an eye for presentation and flavour. We have delicious daily specials boards offering fine examples of our love for food. We also have many special offers including cocktail nights (Tuesday and Thursday) 2-4-1 5pm onwards.
stoke on trent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't have the pork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good service, a little cramped the staff were having to squeeze past us. small portions of meat on the sunday lunch and the pork consisted of a strip of belly pork which was 90 percent fat ( not even crackling ). great yorkshire puds. i would have returned the pork but didn't wish to spoil our special weekend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    48
    17
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good value good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I had lunch with a friend the restaurant is small and friendly service and food of a high standard. Reasonably priced. The choice changes each week they have a good vegetarian range. Food well presented and good sized portions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Best steak and chips I've had in a long time! Have walked past a few times when eating in other places in the area but first time in here for lunch. It's small , friendly and would call again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not as good as others”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked this for my daughter's birthday. We asked if the early-bird / happy hour menu would be available if we arrived just before 6 and we're told yes, however on arrival we were told it was too late and we would have to have the a la carte. Menu was ok without being too inspiring. My wife who has a small appetite had the roast peach & goats cheese starter. There was exactly 5 tiny pieces of goats cheese about 1 oz! Scallops & soup were good, but my pork belly hadn't been cooked long enough to make it sweet & succulent rather than greasy. I'm sure you could get a good meal here but our visit only warrants the 3 stars!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a wee taxi from the city centre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Organising a dinner for 13 of us in a city we don't know is a challenge and a responsibility - Bistro FORTY6 was amazing. A short taxi journey from the city centre and what a find. A very quaint bistro with a lovely atmosphere. The menu although quite small had a lovely mix of dishes and the specials on the blackboards around the restaurant were a great compliment to the menu. We had a great evening, Michael and his team looked after us so well. And as for dessert well the Chocolate Fondant was to die for! We wish this restaurant all the success it truly deserves!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro FORTY6 also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro FORTY6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro FORTY6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.