We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro FORTY6

Bistro FORTY6
46 Brentwood Avenue, Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 3DH, England (Formerly Bruges)
+44 191 281 8081
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A superb modern European bistro with a lovely atmosphere and great staff. Our amazing food is prepared fresh to order with an eye for presentation and flavour. We have delicious daily specials boards offering fine examples of our love for food. We also have many special offers including cocktail nights (Tuesday and Thursday) 2-4-1 5pm onwards.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Restaurant is small and intimate but with a delightful ambience. Cocktails are a must (we tried 3 different ones), food was excellent, of highest quality, perfectly cooked and just the right portions. Staff were superb, very engaging with nothing too much trouble. We will definitely be back!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    48
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little eatery, but limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Do your homework first with this little bistro. The al a carte menu is limited, there are half a dozen specials and thats it. But what they serve is very good quality and cooked as you like it. We had rib-eye steak which was done to a turn. My wife had a bownie for dessert, but this was burnt on the bottom, but didn't spoil her enjoyment of the meal overall.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Visit restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great food,good,friendly staff and Michael the owner will chat and give his recommendations
On food and wine amongst other things
We had the belly pork and duck with scallop starters all cooked and served superbly.
Definite recommendation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Epic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say that I have never had food of that quality or such brilliant service for such an affordable price. The food was perfectly cooked and presented beautifully and the staff were a realy pleasure and couldnt be more helpful. Officially my number one restaurant in Newcastle!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely eatery not the usual pompous Jesmond experience. Great food and first class service, a very relaxing evening. Small and perfectly formed. Will definitely return. Recommend the scallops and venison for mains. Great cocktails especially expresso martini.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro FORTY6 also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro FORTY6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro FORTY6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.