We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, out of the way location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington House Aparthotel to your Saves list
Kensington House Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, out of the way location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Kensington House is a great place to stay in Newcastle. Clean, excellent service, good housekeeping and large well equipped apartments. We had a one bedroom, with a neat kitchenette. We were told we had been upgraded so we don't know what the others are like. The only downside is that it's not close to any shops, restaurants or transport. It's not possible to step out and have a meal or pick up some groceries. Other than that we had a marvelous stay.

Room Tip: We had room 63 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There is a Tesco and Waitrose within walking distance alternatively a taxi can be booked by reception approx cost £3, there is a metro station across the road which can take you into town one or two stops depending where you would like to be. There is a selection of restaurants and bars within walking distance at the top of Osborne Road, reception can help if guests are not sure of local amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    65
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
79
37
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Myself and three other girls stayed here for 3 nights for a birthday weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay.
The apartment was lovely, exactly what we were looking for, it looks exactly like it does in the pictures. The location isn't central to newcastle, but it's only a short taxi ride away, about 5 minutes, £5 in the taxi.
About a 5/10 minute walk up the street is a selection of shops, bars and restaurants, so if you don't want to get a taxi into newcastle centre there is somewhere to eat/drink close by.
Overall the experience was great and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.



Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here on Saturday 9th of August, the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. she informed us we had been upgraded which was a lovely surprise. The service is first class here. The apartment has a luxurious feel, complimentary breakfast supplied, It is very spacious, even had a patio area. The bed was really comfy and my husband said its the best shower he's been in. Very handy if you have kids at University staying the Jesmond area. About 15 minutes walk to Newcastle city centre. Plenty of bars and places to eat nearby. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. You will be given a loyalty card and after nine stays the tenth one is free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do run a loyalty scheme as you described, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.



Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friends and I stayed on the 8th July for 1 night for a graduation night out. We stayed in a Pelham suite. I missed check in as I arrived late but my friend who checked us in said everything went fine and we didn't need to pay the £100 security deposit as there we're only 3 of us staying in the room.

The room smelt fresh on arrival, bedding was soft, plenty of towels, glasses, dishes etc. The room had a few small wear and tear stains and marks but nothing major and it was clean and presentable.

We had a few drinks and watched the music channels on sky, and headed downstairs at 11pm to go out on the town. The night porter called us a taxi and gave us a little card with the apartment address on incase we got lost or split up which was cute.

Had a comfy nights sleep, decent shower and bath. Checkout was quick and easy, the receptionist was very pleasant and couldn't do enough to help make our stay better, she even put a congratulations balloon in our room for my graduation.


The only minor things that weren't to my taste were the storage spaces, instead of having wardrobes there was a cheap shelving unit which looked a bit odd, a standard wardrobe would have given the room a more luxury feel, but other than that it was absolutely fine.

I would stay again definitely, and I travel a lot to high quality hotels around the globe, and this one is a reasonably priced little gem for an affordable budget luxury stay in the heart of Newcastle :)

Hope this helps for people who are unsure of booking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the wardrobes were specially made and expensive, as guests are usually short stay it makes it easy for them and us to check they haven't left anything behind.



Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Four of us stayed here for our daughter's graduation at the beginning of July. The staff at the hotel were so helpful and kind; nothing was too much trouble for them. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for such a happy occasion as your daughters graduation,we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We always choose Kensington House Aparthotel when we bring the children (5 and 8) up to Newcastle. The facilities are superb and the apartments are spacious. We have a far better/more comfortable stay at Kensington with the kids than at other hotels we have been to elsewhere with them.

The location is excellent. The Metro is across the road (but cannot be heard from the apartments) and shopping, eating and drinking, and all the entertainment that Newcastle has to offer are within walking distance.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

I highly recommend Kensington House.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, staying in the apartments with young children is much easier than two hotel rooms,we look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Kensington House Aparthotel was the perfect hotel/apartment to relax, unwind and flexibility. I had asked for an earlier check in (For an additional cost) however the staff were very flexible and even helped me with taking luggage to our room.

The girls and I really enjoyed our time at the apartments and really made ourselves at home. The apartment came with all the right facilities and even croissants for your breakfast.

Very central and really good value for money, I would consider staying here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our home from home experience and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington House Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.