We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed several times , always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Kensington House Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stayed several times , always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Really good value (during week)
Always clean and fixtures of good quality
Good location
We have stayed several times in the last year , no complaints at all
Gets very busy at weekends but no complaints , apartments are nice & modern
Complementary juice in fridge or a vending machine would be great tho

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, during the week we have started putting orange juice cereal and water in the apartments, we look froward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    48
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
32
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I don't want this review to be a slanging match, I merely want to point out where there could be improvements.

The apartment itself was great for what we needed & worked out much better value than a hotel. It was modern, had a spacious living area and cosy bedrooms. The bathroom & kitchen were very modern & having a utility area is a fantastic idea. The location was fine for us as we used taxis & was only a 10 min journey. It would be naive to suggest that the apartments were spotless but it wasn't an issue.

The one issue I had was the attitude of the staff when first checking in. As soon as they were aware we were there for a 21st, by some of the comments it would seem they had preconceptions of us. Firstly we were told "I hope you're not going to wreck the place" - I found that a little insulting. And "if anything is not as you found it, we will charge the card that we have on file." Both of which are common sense - it was the manner that irate me.

The balance had to be paid straight away and we wanted to pay part cash/part card. we were told by what I assume was the manager: "the receptionist is training and I think you need to sort something out because this just isn't going to work, and you're confusing her". Firstly, I understand that - its more of a faff however, it could have been dealt with better. We shouldn't have felt like an inconvenience & her frustration shouldn't have shown. Secondly - the manner was rude and they should be grateful for our custom. And thirdly, the training of the staff (which we know at some point has to happen) was not our problem. They should have been apologising for the not so swift service, not making us feel like the burden was placed on us to make it as easy as possible. At the end of the day, a lot more stressful situations will happen before she's finished in that job.

We were told that "we weren't to bring males back" at the end of the night out. Again, presumptuous. We paid a flat rate that catered for 8, so it was a little irritating to be told we couldn't exercise our entitlement. It felt like we were being watched constantly, just waiting for a member of staff to come and tell us another rule. At the end of the day people pay the privilege for accommodation and to use the space for whatever means, providing they respect the space & other guests.

I think they were dubious about our age group & there is other reviews with similar complaints. I feel if they don't want younger groups to book, they should endorse an over 21/25 policy then neither parties would feel uncomfortable for whatever reasons. Ironic that they are quite happy to take your money though.

The service we received wasn't four star, although after this debacle the staff were very pleasant. Too late was the cry - first impressions!

Other minor points - kitchen could have had another clean, there wasn't enough towels provided, nor breakfast in one of the apartments & would recommend putting 2 apartments of the same booking together.

I would stay again despite it, as it was perfect for our usage. Although I think the manner in which the staff speak to guests & the way things can be interpreted really does need to be reviewed. There would have been others in that situation that would have walked out. I also think the preconceptions should be kept to yourself. Our money is just as good as anyone's regardless of our age.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All comments good or bad can help us to improve.

I agree your apartments should have been together this was an oversight on the receptions part, and there should have been no reason why you could not pay part cash and part card on arrival.

I apologise there was not enough towels, reception would have brought some over if you had telephoned from your apartment.

We do not have pre concieved ideas about our guests we expect them to treat the apartments and our terms and conditions with respect, and you are correct training staff has nothing to do with our clients and should not have been pointed out, however people should not make assumptions either I was not on duty 'assumed was the manager' at the time of your check, if I ahd it would have been entirely different.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Gillian Hall General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel we had originally booked to stay at became overbooked and as a result we were offered alternative rooms here, which couldn't have worked out better! The hotel was centrally located and taxi's into town were only a few pounds between the 7 of us. Staff were so friendly and helpful and were more than welcoming to say we had been booked in last minute. The apartments themselves were great - very clean and tidy, plenty of room to get ready and so nicely decorated. Would love to come again for a longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place to stay on a regular basis and beats hotels any time. The staff are friendly, especially Ruth - what a great asset she is to the company, I hope they realise what a gem she is.

The apartments are 'plush', very comfortable, everything you need to keep you independent - especially with Waitrose up the road!! A great place to stay if you want to sit and eat your porridge in your pyjamas, if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: All the apartments are good, most with the bedrooms at the back so guaranteed to be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, Ruth is very helpful as are all the team and it makes it all worth while when guests enjoy their stay we look forward toseeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this hotel in February and requested a room on a low floor and a large bed. When we checked in on Saturday afternoon we were told the room was on the top floor and there was no lift! The reason I had requested a low floor is that my husband has two artificial hip joint replacements which are about to be replaced due to pain. The receptionist said she had ignored the request for a low floor in favour of giving us a large bed even though I requested the low floor first. The bed was a normal double anyway so in my opinion she had ignored both requests. To make up for the error we were given a complimentary breakfast which consisted of 2 soft croissants and 2 boxes of sugar coated cornflakes which we didn't eat as both looked so unhealthy! Needless to say we will not be returning to this aparthotel. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs then stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are sorry we have disappointed you on this occasion. We try our best to accommodate guests requests but this is not always possible, as we explain when requests are made. We ares sorry you feel unable to stay with us again because of this.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the second time I have visited the apartments. This time it was on a girls night out. The staff was very friendly and more than happy to help with everything. Lovely clean spacious rooms and lovely bathroom. I love the shower!!!! Would recommend to anyone! Will be going back soon!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

KInd regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Lincs, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed overnight as family of four ( all adults). As parents we had the double room and our two young adults shared a twin room. Ask for the Pelham Apartment if these are the type of rooms you require. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. The apartment was far more comfortable and trendy than any hotel I have stayed in previously. Even though we stayed on a Friday night, noise was not a problem and the apartments are in a perfect location at the end of Osborne Road in Jesmond. The receptionist said the nearest restaurant was a 10 minute walk along the 'strip', but it only took us 3. (Bear in mind we were not wearing stilettos and the weather was freezing, so we didn't dawdle.)
As with most apartments of this type, remember to take your breakfast as none is provided, just tea and coffee with the little cartons of milk. The apartment was well equipped though with dishwasher, toaster and cooking utensils, bottle opener etc. The towels provided were exceptionally fluffy too! My only gripe if any, was that there was no shower in the main bathroom, but there was a shower in the en-suite of the double bedroom. My advice overall, stay here, it's great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, when you stay with us again request the apartment with two showers we only have a couple, but if you ask for one when making a reservation we try our best to accommodate this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington House Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.