We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be Independent in a Lovely Flat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Kensington House Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kensington House Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great to be Independent in a Lovely Flat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great to be independent in a lovely flat yet still have 24 hour reception service for any questions. Very spacious and the kitchen is well equipped. Waitrose a 15 minute walk away - essential for buying breakfast as the continental one supplied in the flat is very basic! Not very central but lots of places to eat before you get to Waitrose! Bathroom fine but instructions on how to use the shower would help!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, reception are always on hand to help our guests if you have diffuculty using any of the appliances. We look forward to seeing you again in the fututre.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
32
27
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just returned from staying here whilst on a weekend away with a group of friends. The apartments are very nice with great interior, the only inconvenience we had is that our two bedroom apartment only had one bathroom. Me and my friends are used to going away in big groups and tend to find large apartments usually have two bathrooms - it's only a problem if you're a group of girls and each take a while to get ready otherwise i'm sure it wouldn't be an issue. The apartments are a taxi ride into town so not really walkable as it's across motorways and massive roundabouts, I guess you could walk if you really wanted to but we chose a taxi ride every time. Reception would always call us a taxi and we never had to wait very long so again no real issues with this plus they're dirt cheap up there anyway.

The Kensington has a rather odd policy of requiring £100 per room cash deposit when you arrive, we're used to being able to secure on a credit card. We weren't aware of this so meant everybody was without some of their money for the weekend. When we checked out they required every single member of our party (10 in total in 3 rooms), not each room individually, to be present before giving us back £300. This made checking out a rather tedious and lengthy process but all was well in the end.

Overall lovely apartments and would recommend if you don't mind grabbing a taxi into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is possible to walk into town from Kensington using footpaths avoiding motorways and roundabouts directions available from reception.

We do have have apartments available with a bathroom and a en suite these can be requested when making a booking.

On arrival with all groups we request a £100 per apartment bond (not deposit) this is a collective bond per group any damage in any apartment and the bond is forfeited. Unfortunately a small percentage of people do not look after our apartments as we would like, any damage has to be paid for. We tried taking credit cards but it is amazing how many decline. We find this is the easiest way.

This procedure is discussed in detail with the person who makes the booking, it is also on the confirmation which is sent to the person making the booking

I am glad it didn't detract from your stay and look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice accommodation, nice location.. Quiet at night with good facilities ! Shame wifi is driven by an annoying code system at £5 per device per 24 hours, its not convenient when there's multiple people in an apartment with multiple devices.. Charge more for the rooms and open the wifi up !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we do take on board all of our guests comments and we are looking at ways we can address the wi fi system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked in here on a weekend stay for business and was very pleased with my stay. The apartment was modern, spacious and comfortable and the free SKY TV was an added bonus for a football fan such as myself on a weekend away from home, the movie afterwards left it feeling like a home away from home.

The location is also excellent - only a short walk from Jesmond, a bustling mini high-street away from the town centre with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The real bright point of my stay here was the level ogf help I had from reception. The lady there helped me with every query I had, from printing work documents to giving me directions and helping me with the heating control in my room (nothing wrong with it, just me needing help!). Overall, a fantastic stay. Next time I'm in Newcastle - for business or pleasure - I know where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: There are two car parks with easy access from first (front car park) or basement floor (rear).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is such a cliche to say: Home away from home! Newertheless, this warm and well run Aparthotel have instantly felt like home... Apartment was very spatious, nicely furnished, kichen with everything you could need, comfortable bed, good adjustable heating. Not a thing to complain! Such a nice place to return and relax after a busy day. Staff was genuinely nice, helpful and went out of their way to help with everything you might need.
It is convenient for transportation, since it is just across the street from Jesmond metro station. On my next visit to Newcastle, wherther business or touristic, I would deffinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us we work hard to make all our guests enjoy their stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future


Kind regards
Gillian Hal
General Managerl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting friends and family locally, and really don't think we could have found a better place to stay.

The location is perfect, across the road from Jesmond Metro and an easy walk to shops in Jesmond or into the city centre. Apartments were spotless, decor a bit dark for my taste but very modern and smart, and Sky TV a bonus. The kitchen had everything we needed, and essentials were provided including croissants in the freezer! The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've slept in, I should have asked where they got their duvet and pillows from!

Would highly recommend it, and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. The bedding was bought from a Company called Mitre.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at these apartments and would highly recommend them. Staff were friendly and helpful, easy check in and we were upgraded on arrival to an apartment with two bathrooms which was very useful for a party of four ladies!
The apartment itself was lovely, very spacious, clean and modern.
There was a small 'kit' on arrival of milk/butter in the fridge, and a container with tea/coffee & hot chocolate, which would be very handy for someone needing a cuppa.
The apartment had lots of utensils to use if anyone wanted to prepare a meal/snack.
I have normaly stayed in Newcastle itself when visiting but seen these apartments and thought we'd give them a try. I'm so pleased we did. They were very reasonably priced, (although we did book approx 4 months prior so this may have made a difference). In fact we were just going to stay the one night as we were visiting Newcastle for a concert, but we decided to stay an extra night as we thought it was such a reasonable rate. We were suitably impressed. The rooms were clean, bright and there was even Sky TV.
We asked for a taxi to be booked on a couple of occasions and a taxi arrived in no time at all. The taxi prices were very reasonable, and it was a quick ride into the city, so any doubts about staying outside the city itself were soon dispelled.
I would definately stay in these appartments again, and there really is no greater recommendation than that.

Room Tip: There are quite a lot of stairs to the higher rooms, and no lift. So if mobility is a problem, or ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovley review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel
Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington House Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.