We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfort, great location, excellent staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington House Aparthotel

Save Saved
You added Kensington House Aparthotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good comfort, great location, excellent staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked in here on a weekend stay for business and was very pleased with my stay. The apartment was modern, spacious and comfortable and the free SKY TV was an added bonus for a football fan such as myself on a weekend away from home, the movie afterwards left it feeling like a home away from home.

The location is also excellent - only a short walk from Jesmond, a bustling mini high-street away from the town centre with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.

The real bright point of my stay here was the level ogf help I had from reception. The lady there helped me with every query I had, from printing work documents to giving me directions and helping me with the heating control in my room (nothing wrong with it, just me needing help!). Overall, a fantastic stay. Next time I'm in Newcastle - for business or pleasure - I know where I'll be staying.

Room Tip: There are two car parks with easy access from first (front car park) or basement floor (rear).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
44
32
2
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is such a cliche to say: Home away from home! Newertheless, this warm and well run Aparthotel have instantly felt like home... Apartment was very spatious, nicely furnished, kichen with everything you could need, comfortable bed, good adjustable heating. Not a thing to complain! Such a nice place to return and relax after a busy day. Staff was genuinely nice, helpful and went out of their way to help with everything you might need.
It is convenient for transportation, since it is just across the street from Jesmond metro station. On my next visit to Newcastle, wherther business or touristic, I would deffinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review for us we work hard to make all our guests enjoy their stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the future


Kind regards
Gillian Hal
General Managerl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights whilst visiting friends and family locally, and really don't think we could have found a better place to stay.

The location is perfect, across the road from Jesmond Metro and an easy walk to shops in Jesmond or into the city centre. Apartments were spotless, decor a bit dark for my taste but very modern and smart, and Sky TV a bonus. The kitchen had everything we needed, and essentials were provided including croissants in the freezer! The bed was possibly the most comfortable I've slept in, I should have asked where they got their duvet and pillows from!

Would highly recommend it, and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. The bedding was bought from a Company called Mitre.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just come back from a two night stay at these apartments and would highly recommend them. Staff were friendly and helpful, easy check in and we were upgraded on arrival to an apartment with two bathrooms which was very useful for a party of four ladies!
The apartment itself was lovely, very spacious, clean and modern.
There was a small 'kit' on arrival of milk/butter in the fridge, and a container with tea/coffee & hot chocolate, which would be very handy for someone needing a cuppa.
The apartment had lots of utensils to use if anyone wanted to prepare a meal/snack.
I have normaly stayed in Newcastle itself when visiting but seen these apartments and thought we'd give them a try. I'm so pleased we did. They were very reasonably priced, (although we did book approx 4 months prior so this may have made a difference). In fact we were just going to stay the one night as we were visiting Newcastle for a concert, but we decided to stay an extra night as we thought it was such a reasonable rate. We were suitably impressed. The rooms were clean, bright and there was even Sky TV.
We asked for a taxi to be booked on a couple of occasions and a taxi arrived in no time at all. The taxi prices were very reasonable, and it was a quick ride into the city, so any doubts about staying outside the city itself were soon dispelled.
I would definately stay in these appartments again, and there really is no greater recommendation than that.

Room Tip: There are quite a lot of stairs to the higher rooms, and no lift. So if mobility is a problem, or ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovley review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The apartment was really nice spacious and clean. Great location, the receptionist was really nice and helpful. Also sky sports in the living room to watch the football!
Everything worked well, loads of space. Great place to stay! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely reveiw I hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter, sister and her mother in law for a weekend of xmas shopping in Newcastle. It was brilliant from start to finish! Helen, the receptionist checked us in on arrival and was extremely helpful and friendly, even changing our apartment to one on a lower floor..(without being asked!!).. when she noticed one of us would struggle with lots of stairs!! We really appreciated this. The apartment itself was gorgeous, very clean and modern, with comfortable beds and everything you could possibly need. Taxi booked for us on departure so a 'no hassle' journey to the station.
The apartments are in a perfect location, being only 5 minutes walk to the local Metro station, from where it was only 1 stop to the city..brilliant when carrying lots of shopping :)
Would highly recommend the apartments and Newcastle itself. It's a beautiful city with great shopping and some wonderful bars and restaurants. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: We had room 56 on the first floor, was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here with a few friends for a night away. Had a great time, apartments very luxurious, clean and gorgeous decor. Fast check in.
Only downfall - lots of stairs. My friend doesn't keep too well and struggled. Sure we could ask for lower rooms next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thak you for writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future, when booking please request a lower floor and we will make sure you get one.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington House Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.