We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mini break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect mini break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary at the end of January. It was absolutely lovely. All of the staff were so nice and friendly. We felt really welcome and relaxed. The spa was so chilled and calming. We had dinner in the restaurant on our last night and can not fault a single thing. The food and service were amazing. Have not stopped telling people about it. Most definitely highly recommend. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Frankief83

We are thrilled you had a great stay and really appreciate you having taken the time to leave your review.
Make sure you and your boyfriend do come and see us again soon.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    181
    70
    46
    24
See reviews for
88
387
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited Lythe Hill as an adult family of four. On entering the hotel, the dark wood in the hall gives an immediate sense of history the hotel possesses. We were shown to our table by the window in a room which was filled with natural light and which overlooked the lovely grounds. The afternoon tea was excellent. I have been to over 30 hotels over the course of the year and this was one of the best. The lady serving us was professional and very attentive and had a good knowledge of the history of the hotel. I would certainly visit Lythe Hill again for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Hartleylikesculture

The team and I are so pleased you had a great afternoon tea experience with us and hope you treat yourself again in the near future.

We look forwrad to welcoming you back.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a really lovely time. The weather was abysmal, but everything else was terrific. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and Roman the Restaurant Manager was really excellent. The room was clean and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was delicious. Thanks to everyone at Lythe Hill for making our stay special.

Room Tip: There's a modern block and a Tudor block. In the modern block, where we were, you have to go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear AnneHickley

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.
We are so pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for a long romantic weekend before she moved abroad for work for 6 months. We were both extremely happy with our stay and were so glad we booked there.

When we booked the stay we arranged for a full-body massage each for just after arrival. This massage was so good that we immediately made a booking for another massage for our last day. This was also excellent. The price is extremely good value when compared to other spas in the area. There was a wide range of treatments on offer as well as unlimited use of the steam room, sauna and pool.

We stayed in one of the suites and the room was very nice (and very clean). I particularly liked the big fluffy dressing gowns. There were 2 televisions, one with the sofas and one facing the bed.

The only criticism is that the hallway and stairs in the main building do have the feel of a university halls of residence. However, the reception is lovely with a big log fire (and a very friendly receptionist).

The restaurant, which is in the old house, is traditionally wood panelled (I suggest that you look at the pictures on the website). There is another room with big old fashioned leather sofas next to a big log fire in this building. We retired for drinks here, sitting next to the fire, reading a book.

The food in the restaurant was first rate. The restaurant previously had 2 rosettes but has recently dropped to one rosette. Clearly the hotel wants to get this back as they have got a new chef who serves amazing food. There is a great mixture of traditional dishes (e.g. Scallops) along with some more unusual ones (for example mushroom panna cotta or terrine with toasted brioche). All the dishes used expensive ingedients and were delicious. We only ate there for 2 nights, yet there was a different menu on the second night. All the food was cooked perfectly and was extremely well presented. On the Saturday night a live pianist performed in the restaurant, which really added to the romantic mood.

The hotel is prefectly located for long walks in the countryside and they even provide a range of routes starting and finishing at the hotel. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and well worth exploring.

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. They were extremely friendly and very attentive. Whilst in the restaurant or spa you are well taken care of - the waiters were always very observant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear P-Rey

Thank you so much for your review.
We are thrilled you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed all of our facilities.
I am so pleased to share that the two rosettes which were both lost in previous years have BOTH now been regained and our chef and the food and beverage team are striving towards their third.

Make sure you come and visit us again (maybe to treat your girlfriend on her return in 6 months).

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have returned today from a couple of days at Lythe Hill. I have to say for us everything was perfect. The room was a nice size with a good view of the gardens and lake. It was very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We only had afternoon tea and breakfast in the restaurant, both of which were very nice. We ordered room service in the evening after we had worked up an appetite in the sauna, steam room and very nice sized swimming pool. Today my wife and I both had treatments in the spa, my wife had a wrap and deluxe pedicure and I had a full body massage and facial, we both agreed it was one of the best experiences we have had (and we have had a few). Although it either rained or snowed the whole time we were there so we did not get to stroll through the gardens, they did look very nice. We would definitely recommend this hotel we will be returning, probably when its a bit warmer so we can go for that stroll in the gardens.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear jotimbracknell

The team and I appreciate you having taken the time to post your review and we are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay.
Comments such as your are truly motivating for the team and we hope you will come and treat yourself again soon !

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything looks right about this hotel, but the bed was soft enough to give anyone a bad back, the iron didn't work, the loo wouldn't stop flushing, the bar prices were outrageous and they were very concerned to be paid on arrival, very concerned indeed. Not my idea of a hotel....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear sophisticated1948

Your comments are naturally a shame to read.
However we only wish we could have addressed them at the time rather than your brief mention on check out when you were departing and not at ANY point during your stay with us.
With regards the payment on arrival this was merely a credit authorisation and not a payment. This is common hotel practice across the globe.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I really had a perfect stay here, I really couldn't fault it at all. The rooms are lovely, and the bed is so comfortable. The food also again is perfect. The hake and the braised lamb both beautifully cooked to perfection. Breakfast in the morning again perfect. The staff here are very professional and ever so helpful too. I loved it so much I returned a week later and got a free upgrade to an executive room too.
Fantastic place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Starrtraveller

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased you had another great stay and hope we will be a chosen destination again for you in the not too distant future !

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.