We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedded Bliss, plan B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedded Bliss, plan B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Right from the start the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasurable one. We checked in early and were given an upgrade at no extra charge. Our room was in the Tudor building "The Jane Seymour suite." Absolutely fantastic room. We met a true star called Jenny who served us breakfast and tended to our every need always with a smile and a kind word, this genuine lady made our stay an absolute joy! The hotel is set in the most beautiful countryside i have ever seen and with Haslemere town centre around the corner there's enough places to eat and drink even though the hotel restaurant is very good. The hotel spa is excellant with a fully equipt gym,lovely heated pool and friendly staff. The location, staff and amenities are second to none.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Tudor building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    182
    70
    46
    24
See reviews for
88
388
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

All staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had a superior room, which we were really happy with - nicely designed, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The spa was very nice; we didn't have time for treatments but still felt relaxed and refreshed after a swim and a lounge by the pool. Breakfast and dinner were excellent (although staff preparing tables for breakfast while we had an after-dinner coffee in the bar/lounge was a little off-putting). The hotel grounds are lovely and the cute wild rabbits hopping about outside really added to the charm! We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I went here for a two night break just to relax. The spa is very popular and unfortunately I could not secure an appointment in the salon so if your reason for coming here is the spa, ring them first before you book a room. The setting is in lush countryside and there is a nice walk from the hotel that continues to national trust land. The staff are fantastic and very accommodating.
Downsides: no aircon in room and it got very hot. We had to borrow a fan from reception.
The food was good but restaurant menu very pretentious and over-priced. Chiboust or bresanne anyone? breakfast was yummy, great selection of healthy and not so healthy food.
Overall, I would recommend Lythe Hill and I look forward to coming back here. They also have lovely Elemis products in the bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton & Hove
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the country setting, spa and on-site restaurant. All three exceeded our expectations- there were acres of woodland to walk in, a lovely swimming pool (which we had to ourselves for a while) and the food was fantastic. We also had a free upgrade to a suite as we had picked a quiet midweek day.
A few minor niggles, such as a hot room, a dead potted tree outside the window and reduced staffing because it was so quiet, but the service we had was exemplary and we don't expect perfection. Really, really good value for money- check their website for the daily rate as the price we paid would have only got us a chain hotel or B&B usually.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

After being on mailing list for this Hotel for some time, received an email stating they were holding a Comedy NIght on my Husband's Brithday - also with a 2 course sit-down dinner.
Great, decided to book, also booked a Superior room for the night. So glad we did, we had a really nice time, the course meal was ample, and the comedy night was great to, thanks to the organiser Emma.
The room had a seperate lounge and the bathroom seperated the bedroom from this. It was cosy, warm and everything we needed, bed was extremely comfy so were the snuggly pillows.
The Hotel is in a beautiful setting and grounds and all the staff were very friendly and courteous. Would definately go back and would recommend.
The sun was shining when we woke............Beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I booked the hotel for the week-end as a birthday treat for my husband, and wanted somewhere which had spa facilities and a fitness centre. We were not disappointed with everything the hotel had on offer. The layout of the rooms is different from our usual hotel experience, and our room was very well appointed in a small individual building, the room was modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bedroom size could have been slightly larger (had booked a superior room), but the bathroom was a very good size and our overall package was excellent value for money. We were told we could have the use of the spa, heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool and gym from 10.00am on the first morning of our stay (check in to room is not until 3pm) and on check out the following day at 11.00am we could again use the health and fitness facilities up to 4.00pm. There are also spa treatments we could book, but as we had a planned schedule to visit the nearby towns and sights we did not book these. The grounds of the hotel are spacious, well laid out and there is also a lake with ducks and geese. A great location to get away from all the hustle and bustle of busy city life, the surrounding towns and villages are very picturesque and Petworth was a great place to visit, we spent a couple of hours at Petworth House, which we would recommend as well worth a visit. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as we had already made plans for the Saturday evening, but the breakfast on Sunday (included in the price) was excellent value with a lot of choice. We came back home feeling relaxed and refreshed and had a wonderful stay. We were told that the hotel regularly has special promotions so will check their website for later in the year to see if we can book another week-end there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My partner and i chose this hotel because it had everything we wanted for what we considered a good price.
When we booked our room we were told they only had 'superior' doubles left and i'm actually very glad this was the case. The room was a good size (but not huge) and clean and the bathroom was also large. My only criticism was that there was no standing shower, just a shower head over the bath. We stayed in Austen and there were only two rooms accessed by our entrance. On the first night there was no-one else in the room next to us so it was very quiet. Unfortunately on the second night, a very noisy and inconsiderate couple enjoyed slamming doors and banging around and we discovered the walls were VERY thin. We were woken up early in the morning by the sound of the toilet seat being lifted!

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and had pre-booked dinner in the restaurant for that night and the following. I had taken a look at the menu on the website as we are both fussy eaters and decided there was enough of a choice. However when we had a look at the menu provided in the room there was literally only one thing for a main that either of us would want. This meant the prospect of eating in the restaurant the second night was quite worrying. The restaurant and staff however were lovely and made us feel really welcome. The service was good and we were not waiting long for our food. There was actually only one other couple in the room when we first started eating! The second night, after speaking with reception, we opted to have room service and our allocated £25 a head was transferred which we were very happy about. The food was quite expensive outside what was included in our package but it is a 4* hotel.
Breakfast was wonderful, a buffet choice of cooked, fruit, cereals and pastries - couldn't have asked for more and it was regularly replenished throughout breakfast time.

The buildings and grounds were beautiful as was the spa and pool. My only criticism to the spa area was that you were only offered a robe if you were having a treatment and even when on the Saturday we were booked for one they had run out!! we had to keep checking back several times, going out to reception wrapped in a towel which i did NOT find relaxing at all! The pool was basically empty outside of the children's swimming times. We both had a neck, back and shoulder massage which was enjoyable but I have to say it wasn't the best I'd experienced.

As we stayed in one of the modern rooms I cannot speak for how quiet the older rooms would be but if you do not want to hear your neighbours using the toilet or you are a light sleeper then i would avoid Austen. Also if you have special dietary needs or are just fussy, i would check what's on the menu before paying for a rate that includes dinner in the restaurant.

Overall an enjoyable stay but I probably wouldn't go back as i have experienced better spa hotels where you do not have to go outside to use any other facility on site.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.