We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Save Saved
You added The Wheatsheaf Inn to your Saves list
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Haslemere B&B and Inns
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel and Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ken the landlord is a great host, welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean but best of all the food is terrific. Highly recommended for business travellers or just on a break or even just popping by for a meal. Thanks Ken and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

MY partner and her sister stayed for two nights as we were attending a wedding, the other wedding guests stayed at various other hotels in the area, but we had the best deal without a
doubt. the landlord Ken and wife Di, were so friendly as were their staff. The rooms were clean
and comfortable, the breakfast was cooked to perfection, and so much of it, was full till the
evening. I highly recommend this traditional country pub with its good range of real ales, that
i sampled with delight. Thanks Ken for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were introduced to this pretty pub in Grayswood, just outside Haslemere, by a friend a while ago and had a very enjoyable meal. We've also been with a group of about 28 people for lunch and the meal was really excellent and served quickly and efficiently (we had to pre-order, understandably, but no deposit was taken). We took another friend of ours there for lunch on 25th May and had another very good meal. Two of us had the hake and chips which was everything you would hope for from this dish: the batter was lovely and crisp, the fish was skinned and boned and the chips were properly crispy and plentiful. (I was a little put off by the amount of oil that ran out of my fish onto the plate but that's me being picky). The third member of our party had the lamb's liver and bacon with mashed potato, red wine gravy and vegetables. This was a really generous portion with full sized rashers of bacon on top of the fried liver. All these main dishes were under £10 which we thought very reasonable. For pudding two of us had the ice cream or sorbet. This is charged at £1.25 per scoop which seems like a very sensible idea and there was a good choice of flavours (I highly recommend the mango sorbet, delicious). The wafer that accompanied the dish was of the slightly unpleasant cardboard variety that you find wrapping a slab of Neapolitan at the seaside and would have been better left off or replaced with a decent sugar fan (home made langue de chat even better) or even a sprig of mint or piece of fruit. We were there on a very hot day and the windows and doors were open so the traffic noise was a bit intrusive but the inside of the restaurant was pleasantly cool. The service was absolutely excellent and we shall be going back in the not-too-distant future. I would have awarded 5* apart from those, very minor, whinges. Don't let that stop you, it's great food. Book in advance, they are usually busy, specially in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very welcoming and homely - perfect for a nights stay. Very hearty breakfast. Would stay here again without doubt

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

If like me you love a traditional country pub then look no further, you will not be disappointed at the Wheatsheaf. The en suite rooms are clean and comfortable and excellent value for money but it is the pub which is the real star! The owner Ken and his team offer a genuinely warm welcome to this beautiful traditional country pub and the selection of real ales is a real treat to the thirsty traveller. The meals are not "pub grub", they are restaurant quality meals at pub prices with a terrific selection on the specials board to suit all tastes and you will have a hearty breakfast to send you on your way. I have been staying at the Wheatsheaf on business for a number of years and would never go back to boring old hotels. Give it a try - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really welcoming place - really friendly and helpful owners/staff. Room was fairly basic but clean and in good order. Really good value for the price and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed one night to attend the Haslemere Beer Festival. Room, although fairly dated was clean and the bed comfortable (bit a small TV in Room 3!) Shower excellent, great hang over cure! The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great. Shame I didn't have time to sample the restaraunt but friends who live in the area say it is definitly worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn is a traditional country pub located 1 mile north of Haslemere on the A286. It has 6 cosy en-suite bedrooms all with TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and hospitality tray. There is a traditional bar serving real ales and a wide selection of wines from around the world. This is complemented by a more formal restaurant and meals can be enjoyed in either, freshly cooked by award-winning chefs from a menu ranging from traditional pub grub to fine-dining dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Inn Haslemere, Surrey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatsheaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.