We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOILED FOR CHOICE...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo's Trattoria

Carlo's Trattoria
Shere road | Newlands Corner, Guildford gu48SE, England
+44 1483 224180
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 228 Restaurants in Guildford
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“SPOILED FOR CHOICE...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visited for my daughter's birthday celebration on a Wednesday evening. Nice warm welcome and a pleasant ambiance even though the place was not over-busy. Given a choice of table by a waiter with a traditional Italian sense of humour - this boded well.

We were not disappointed. The menu was one of the most comprehensive I have come across recently and it took us a long time to choose. Two specials boards showed some really delicious sounding starters and mains.

Goings for mains and puds we found the chicken and pork from the special board to be superb! Great sauces and served piping hot. Puds were equally well received and we left feeling full and satisfied.

Value for money was excellent with many starters and puds under a fiver (Surrey eating pubs please take note!!!). Wines from £15 and a wide range of wines available by the glass too.

We have already booked to visit again and have no doubt we shall enjoy that experience as much as we did our first.

Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    44
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice ambience and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A nice boy in the car park helped us find a space as it does get busy on Sundays. A friendly welcome when we entered. The decor is simple but attractive making you feel relaxed. We went with our 3 young children (half portions offered). The menu is interesting and varied and sourced locally. I had home made seafood ravioli which was superb, followed by calves liver also delicious. My children enjoyed their lasagne, calamari and prawns. My husband had a slow cooked lamb which melted in the mouth. We will definitely return I would go back just for the ravioli but there were many other things on the menu I would love to try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My absolute favourite place to eat. An independent restaurant and the chef owns it. A bit of a drive out of Guildford, so we always need a 'designated driver' but the food is incredible. Great quality, huge range of dishes and always well prepared and delicious. They have a series of home made ravioli which is LOVELY! Service is amazing too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Guildford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My favourite local restaurant, the food is absolutely incredible. The special menu is always different with amazing options (the octopus carpaccio is fab) and there is a huge range on the normal menu. The food is always fresh and cooked to perfection and Carlo himself often comes out to serve customers if the restaurant isn't busy. Staff are very attentive and welcoming, especially on special occasions. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and anyone and will keep going every time I visit home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a family get together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked Carlo's Trattoria for a pre-Christmas lunch (18 adults, 1 toddler and a new born baby) and we couldn't have gone to a better place. When I booked I requested a high chair, a small portion of turkey for the toddler and whether the staff would be able to look after a black sack for people to put their secret Santa presents into. Nothing seemed too much trouble and we were also given a spare table next to ours, where my niece was able to put her newborn's carry cot. The restaurant itself is bright and airy with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The service throughout the meal was excellent and the waiting staff were all friendly and very jolly. The food itself was delicious - everyone in the party was very happy with their meal and offered excellent value for money (3 courses with plenty of wine, plus other drinks at £25/head) Even though we had booked their latest sitting, at no time were we hurried along (we had quite a long hiatus as the presents were handed out) and were able to enjoy a long, relaxed lunch.
A great family get together in a great restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo's Trattoria also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Carlo's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlo's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.