We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian, but not as we know it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Vicolo

Al Vicolo
1 - 5 Swan Lane, Guildford GU1 4EQ, England
+44 (0)1483 506306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 214 restaurants in Guildford
Price range: $39 - $55
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Italian, but not as we know it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Small, intimate setting off the High Street with a very patriotic and attentive Sardinian host, whose food is well known by the local 'cognoscenti', serving her home country's dishes with a slightly different take on Italian food.

Whilst the food was good and excellent value, the extensive wine list, which naturally featured a selection of Sardinian wines, generally appeared somewhat expensive. Preferring beer also provided us with the opportunity to drink a very good Sardinian lager called Ichnusa for the first time.

My wife raved over the pork escalope in herb sauce with olive mash, and I enjoyed the stuffed chicken breast with rosemary potatoes.

Would definitely recommend eating here, but with only five tables either make sure you book or get here very early.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    41
    15
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food in a great central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Authentic, delicious food and wine, in a tucked away spot just off the High Street. We were recommended the restaurant by an Italian friend and true to his word, it was fabulous. I certainly cannot agree with any of the negative comments.The staff were extremely welcoming and throughout the meal, made sure that everything was ok. Try the tuna steak, it was incredible! We will be back! Thank you.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stroppy waitress”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The waitress needs training in service, food was just plonked in front of us, after leaning across us. Food tasty but portions very small. Had to wait ages just for our order to be taken. First visit, doubt we will be going back

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We wanted a nice lunch, before I did some sales shopping, We were not disappointed, the set lunch menu was very reasonably price, with a nice selection to choose from.The staff were friendly and attentive.
The portions were a nice size, certainly not small , the restaurant was beautifully clean, and well looked after. Can'y wait till we can go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey Uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Guildford by FAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This restaurant is exceptional. Small and cosy with a real touch of Italy.
We have visited this restaurant so many times and each time it seems better then before.
The food is beautifully seasoned and no matter what I have ordered it has always been a good choice.
My husband is a vegetarian and there is always plenty for him to choose as well. The tomato soup is a winner,
Although we do not drink alcohol I have overheard people remarking at the brilliant choice available on their wine menu.
If you want an intimiate cosy night out with a loved one, this is the perfect choice. Not many tables (although there is a top floor as well) I would recommend booking.
Portion sizes are not huge so there is always room for dessert and the selection is always great.
I always feel welcome and the staff are very nice. A real treat and I think of it as a litle hidden gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Vicolo also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Al Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Vicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.