We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What? No shaver socket?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Guildford Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Guildford Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Guildford Central
Parkway, Guildford GU1 1UP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £61
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Guildford
Wales
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“What? No shaver socket?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Premier Inn Guidford central on many occasions but this was not one of the better visits. We were checked in promptly and given a quiet room, so far so good. Arriving at the room it was cold so we tried to get the heating to work - no luck - thought we'd call reception but there's no number for it (found out later it's 300) so went to reception and the young lady came straight up and spotted that the switch below the heater was off - apparently the up position is on!!
Then I tried to recharge my shaver but there isn't a socket any more - with the refurb of the bathroom they took them out (is this sex descrimination??) - apparently they haven't put them in the new wing either. Reception didn't have any adapters either.
Went down to dinner and asked for a bottle of wine - they didn't have a corkscrew!! So I fetched the travel one I always carry!) We ordered the Seafood platter to share. When it arrived half of it was cold and we sent it back - this was replaced promptly. We ordered Fillet steaks medium rare (and we were very explicit about this) - they arrived well done!
Breakfast wasn't much better - the berry fruits were still frozen and the hot breakfast was tepid.
Have to say that our meal and breakfast the 2nd night was much better.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful but this place needs to get its act together!

Room Tip: Bring an adapter if you use a shaver. Ask for an even numbered room in the 40's if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    140
    62
    37
    17
See reviews for
114
92
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stay her frequently on business and staff are very helpful and friendly, and remember me.
The restaurant being a 'Table table' which while being pretty good value for money, is ultimately anything they can stick in a microwave. Having said that, the atmosphere in the restaurant and bar is excellent and the waiting staff are extremely good.
The rooms are undergoing refurbishment but there is little inconvenience caused and the refurbished ones have a much nicer bathroom, and everything is refreshed.
The WiFi in the rooms is OK, but the signal isn't great, but in terms of WiFi value, it is probably the cheapest in the area, and free of course in the bar and restaurant.
Despite being next to two main roads, the noise has never been an issue for me.
One issue is perhaps the value for money. It is in decent location but still a trek into town and if you're driving then the Ramada at Horsley a few miles down the road is better value for money with a much better (if more expensive) restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Arrived at the Premier Inn mid-afternoon. Was checked in promptly without any fuss or problems. Room was as to be expected. Clean and had everything in it which was needed. Nothing spectacular but did it's job for the night. Although there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room, it seemed the pot hadn't been filled up since the last people had been there. Not a problem for myself and partner but would've been nice if it had been done. A downside to the stay was a mishap in the restaurant. Myself and partner had planned on eating at the restaurant during the evening as its right next door. We had got ready and dressed up to find the restaurant closed. We went to reception to query why it was. We were told it was something to do with the gas. Tried to get a bit of info on it but the receptionist just told us she didn't know what was happening. A bit of a disappointment. We ended up driving about 10 miles to a Harvester for dinner in the end. Another downside was the breakfast the following morning. Myself and partner arrived there for about 9 o'clock. We were greeted by a middle-aged worker who was quite slow on the mark dealing with us. Was found a table and immediately was asked would we like to order. We were a bit confused due to the fact being every other Premier Inn we've stayed at has been a buffet of hot food and we can just go up when we want and get what we want. This Premier Inn however was different , something we didn't know about and you have to order a breakfast through a staff member for kitchen staff to go cook it. This made my partner feel a bit awkward as normally he would eat two plates of hot food but didn't feel like it when he was told we had to order the food specifically. The staff member went away and said she'd come back shortly to see what we wanted. 20mins later we were still waiting to be served. She eventually came back and said she'd forgotten about us. Slightly annoying and not very professional , especially as the restaurant was pretty empty , so goodness know's how she forgot. Anyhow , we ordered and the food came to us very quickly. We started eating but didn't enjoy it one bit. The food was too cold to be enjoyed. Most of it was wasted and when the waiter came to collect the finished plated he asked was everything ok , we told him and no and why and that was it. Nothing really said about it. Overall , the room and stay was pleasant , but the breakfast and restaurant spoiled it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Being local to the area we have eaten here many times over the years but admittedly not for some months - we went yesterday lunchtime with our grandaughter. The first thing you notice when you go into the restaurant is the lovely layout and furnishings. You can sit in a cozy corner or on a large table for a big group, you are not squashed up and over looked. We had a lovely american waiter who was charming, my grandaughter had a turkey roast which looked lovely, she was able to order more gravy and had two yorkshires! plenty of vegetables and roast potatoes. I had a wonderful pear and walnut salad. It has always been good here, but since we last visited I would say that the standard has gone up further. All in all a good dining experience at a very competitive price with friendly staff and good clean surroundings. I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights 14th & 15th January. Very spacious room, newly refurbished, super clean, and really comfortable. Staff were terrific, both on the desk and in the breakfast room. Nothing was too much trouble. Very impressed!.

We stayed at the front, on a busy road, hardly heard anything. I think anyone who complains about this place is just "nit-picking" as they say! For a standard, basic hotel you couldn't want for more.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

After receiving an email from PI about their new year's sale, we managed to book two rooms for two nights at an amazing rate of just £19/room/night!

The hotel is spacious and there were plenty of parking spaces. The historical town of Guildford is a short walk away, as is the mainline station to London. However, we decide to drive to the station where parking after 11.15am is £5

The hotel rooms were clean and fresh; after calling ahead our rooms were made ready/available earlier so we could drop off our luggage before heading in to London for the afternoon. All credit to the staff who did a great job of making our rooms available in such short notice - it really was a big help.

Travelling with three children under the age of 16 meant we could all (2 adults and 3 children) eat from the PI cooked breakfast menu for just £14.98 as only adults pay the £7.99 rate whilst children >16 eat free! The selection of continental breakfast (also included in the price) was sufficient and plentiful and the cooked breakfast selection (cooked to order) was pleasant too!

Although we did not manage to get to use it this time, there is a swimming pool and ice rink just a short walk from the hotel which we have used in previous years.

If visiting Guildford, there is a lovely food/coffee shop (Caracoli) at the top of the high street which sells wonderful artisan breads on Saturdays.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed here when we were attending a wedding reception in Guildford. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was really comfortable and had everything we needed. Most importantly it was quiet and has a guarantee for money back if it isnt quiet which is important to me as I have stayed at many a hotel with thin walls and noisy neighbours and I felt comfortable staying here.
If you want to get to the town centre then you would probably need to get a taxi but on a nice day it is within walking distance. I cannot comment on the breakfast / dinner as we didn't book it but the restaurant next door is a Table, Table and they are usually a very good value place to eat and so if I had of eaten there I know I wouldn't have been disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Guildford Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Guildford Central

Address: Parkway, Guildford GU1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Guildford Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Guildford Central Hotel Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Guildford Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.