We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 - 40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Guildford
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    104
    77
    47
    62
See reviews for
40
113
31
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham Spa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel walls are paper thin, there was a function on last night & it went on till 12 & then there was a mixture of drunk people just arguing in the hall ways till 4am. Complained to the management & they said sorry but did nothing else. I fine this place probably fine to stay if you have a stag or hen do coming up & sleep is the last thing you need.
Nice looking place but it's all the gear with no idea!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good hotel in Guildford, I was fortunate to be upgraded when hotel was full. The whole stay was comfortable, room very very clean, well done to the house staff. Reception good.
Breakfast was better than the norm, lovely sausage! Downside thought the bar shut to early, there was a lot of customers spending and enjoying themselves, but the 4 bar staff just shut up shop?
There is a small free car parking at the front, so book in early, otherwise you have to pay £7 for rear car park. One of my friends parked in the road opposite, and during the night had his car keyed! Overall pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for new build
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For the third year running I have hosted a charity night in aid of Breast Cancer at the Mandolay Hotel. It was attended by 280 Ladies. We had a champagne reception, 3 course dinner plus entertainment.......tribute act and disco.
The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly and really contributed to the night being a huge success . Everyone agreed the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
It's a great venue for hosting large fund raising events.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was nicely furnished although there was a bad smell coming from the shower room, which was incredibly small. We stayed at the end of September and the room was very hot maybe because it was on the top floor. We had dinner and the service and food was of a good standard. There is free parking at the front although limited. We stayed on a Sunday evening and had no problem.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the weekend and given room 53 in the seperate coach house at the back of the carpark. The room was quite sweet and not bad value at £77 for the two of us. The bathroom was small but fine and everything was clean. I can understand why some people moan about the rooms being seperate to the main building - this could be annoying if you were staying for breakfast or dinner, particularly in bad weather. The main downside for me was that just outside our room seemed to be the area that staff congregated for smoking, sometimes as many as six people were smoking and talking loudly and we could hear this in our room. Later some kind of function was going on and about 25 people were smoking outside and drinking which was very loud. We went out for the evening and they were gone when we came back it would have been an issue if we hadn't gone out. This was the third visit and, whilst I would stay at the Mandolay again, I would definitely not want to stay in this room again. I was going to mention it at check out but wasn't asked if I had enjoyed or had a good stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 53 due to the smoking issue. Other rooms I have stayed in within the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildfordhotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for your review and of course for your continued use of the hotel, it is very useful to us to hear the comments of a regular guest.

May I begin by apologising for the inconvenience you describe, I have spoken with the General Manager on the subject of staff congregating in the area and we are investigating alternatives.

The Coach House accommodation is always extremely popular particularly for business users, please mention your preference next time you book and I am sure that the reception team will ensure that your request will be granted.

Once again many thanks for your review and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 36 - 40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.