We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guildford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highbourne
Save
You added Highbourne to your Saves list
12 Guildown Avenue, Guildford GU2 4HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Guildford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We attended the Magic Summer Live concert and needed an overnight stay. We were so lucky to book in advance our rooms at Highbourne. The highly praised reviews on tripadvisor are all completely justified and accurate. We had a wonderful time but all too brief. Jane is a fantastic host making us all feel welcome and allowing us to share her home. Jane is extremely knowledgeable of the area and generous with her time. Will return when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highbourne, the beautiful home of Jane and her family. From our very first contact with Jane, through to our final good-byes, we were made to feel more like friends than visitors. Jane was very helpful in every aspect of our stay, offering local information, directions to the town centre and train timetables for our trip to London. Jane's home is ideally set in a quiet, leafy part of Guildford, within a 10-15 minute walk or a short drive of the town centre. Our lovely en-suite room was beautifully furnished and decorated with picturesque views over the wonderful garden. Breakfast was informal and it was lovely to have the chance to chat with the other guests and Jane. We highly recommend Highbourne and intend to return again in a few months time. Not to be missed!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We are sure you will find this special B & B a place in your heart as we have because it is truely beautiful and so well run by Jane and family who are modest in there ways which makes you feel completely at ease. The local knowledge is invaluable to give your stay the best of things to do and see and how to make your way around. Great stay in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Jane was a wonderful host, very welcoming, helpful, and compassionate (we were there to attend a funeral). The bedroom was roomy and the bed very comfortable. The private bath was also well appointed. The house was nicely located in the town. There were a number of stairs to get to the room, and breakfast was continental as opposed to full English, but neither really detracted from the stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A marvellous property with beautiful garden, huge room, everything in perfection, warm and friendly welcome. Everything in the room is of the best quality. Coffee, tea, chocolate drink, bottled water and biscuits in the bedroom. Excellent choice of good quality continental breakfast. Definitely a well deserved Five Star B & B. Felt privileged that the owner shared this beautiful place with us. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This has to be the best B&B we have ever stayed at. The house is a magnificent family home with a lovely informal garden set in a very quiet countryfied location close to the centre of Guildford.
Jane Derbyshire, is simply the most wonderful host who not only makes you feel very welcome but does so in an inspired way. Within minutes you feel that you are staying with a good friend.

Nothing is too much trouble for her. She recommended restaurants and even arranged for her husband to drive us to it to save us getting our car out again, and breakfast the next morning was as brilliant as everything else at Highbourne.

The friendly welcome, quiet location, spotless premises, large comfortable rooms, all in close proximity to the centre of Guildford make it the perfect place to stay. I can assure you that a stay at Highbourne leaves you wishing for an excuse to return very soon. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a B&B like no other. Jane and her husband open their stunningly beautiful home to you and treat you like a long, lost friend. In Jane you find the sweetest, friendliest and most helpful person you could come across. You stay there thinking you cannot believe there are such wonderful places to stay in, and it exceeds by far any B&B we have ever come across. If you need a place to stay in Guildford or surrounding area, I wholeheartedly recommend Highbourne and it's amazing Jane!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbourne

Address: 12 Guildown Avenue, Guildford GU2 4HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the discerning. A 5 star substantial, modern, four storey home in a beautiful tranquil avenue situated in a commanding position in mature grounds, with beautiful views. A ten minute walk to Guildford town Centre, with its rich heritage, cultural events and excellent shopping. Countryside walks and local pub are easily accessible.Guests enjoy continental breakfast.Three spacious double bedrooms of a high standard with ensuite and private bathroom. Tea/coffee making facilities, TV, WiFi ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.