We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Guildford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glutton & Glee

Glutton & Glee
6 Tunsgate, Guildford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 216 Restaurants in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Guildford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our family are always on the lookout for places to have breakfast and like to stay away from the big chains. I go into Guildford regularly, but never think to go into the Tunsgate - I always pass it by. However, this morning, I thought I would search on line to see if there was anywhere different we could go. I found Glutton & Glee and then read the reviews here and thought it looked perfect.
My son and I set off and when we arrived we were not disappointed.
We received a very warm and cheery welcome and went to find a little table upstairs. It was spotless and cosy. The menu isn't enormous, but we just wanted a nice breakfast and we made the right choices. It was a change to have sourdough toast - a personal favourite of mine and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon were delicious. The Eggs Royale ( a posh Eggs Benedict) were excellent too.
The cappucino was first class and my son was delighted to be served with real tea in a pot instead of tea bags.
We shall definitely be returning very soon - but I think we will have to get there early as it gets very busy.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Coffee I've had in the UK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having been away from Guildford for many years, I was looking for somewhere that did great coffee while here on holiday and found this little place online which had good reviews, and it definitely didn't disappoint.
The coffee was really great, and the selection of food is very fresh and homely.
Highly recommend for breakfast or light lunch. Friendly staff and if good weather the little courtyard is cute and quiet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is very small, but they have healthy snacks and do gluten free cake etc. They are conveniently near the castle. There is a tiny outside seating area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic little local cafe, serving great food and amazing coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Can't praise Glutton and Glee too highly. The staff are friendly and helpful. The coffee is the best I have had in the UK. The food is home made , interesting and tasty.
I often pop in for a take away Flat White and a salad for my lunch. At the weekends we enjoy a more leisurely visit , reading the newspapers provided and having brunch ...great breakfasts served till 12.00.
Always disappointed if no seats available... It is small!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely cafe, delicious cake, great service. Nice coffee and good choice of veggie options. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glutton & Glee also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Glutton & Glee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glutton & Glee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.