We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guildford YMCA

Guildford YMCA
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guildford YMCA to your Saves list
Guildford YMCA
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bridge Street, Guildford GU1 4SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Guildford B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at the Guildford YMCA for a prolonged period last month. The basics are well and truly covered as the premises are generally quite clean, there's a daily towel change service and WiFi access in most rooms.

I found the Single En-Suite rooms adequately spacious, although the modernised bathrooms can be a tight fit.

The food at the Y Restaurant was always served with a smile, and was consistently prepared to a good standard. The breakfast selection was notably impressive for the money.

Conclusively, for the money there's not much better if you're after a central location. Thank you to the floor staff (reception, kitchen and laundry) who made my stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: River-facing single en-suites are good, although TV reception on certain channels can suffer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. It is newly built with an intelligent design. I stayed in an en suite single room at £55 per night. There is a pleasant restaurant view over the River which runs beside the YMCA. I ate two breakfasts and a dinner here and the food was excellent. I am a vegetarian but I could see the meat dishes were attractive and imaginative too. The staff I met were bright and welcoming; the location is central, right by the railway station but my room was quiet. It is very good value for money.

Room Tip: I don't know enough about the rest of the building to say more than that my room 143, on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I travelled alone and stayed for one night in August & I could not fault a thing.

The hostel is located on the opposite side of the road to the train station and a 5 minute walk into the centre where there are lots of shops and restaurants, so a perfect location.

Upon arrival I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who could not have been more helpful. He provided me with everything I needed and all the information regarding Wi-fi, breakfast and luggage storage. The following day I had to check out by 10am but my train was not until 7pm so they were kind enough to keep my luggage stored away in a locked room until I came to collect it.

The room was one single bed and a shared bathroom. To my surprise, I never had to wait for the bathroom to become available as each shared bathroom is only shared with one other person. The shower wasn't too powerful but it did the job. The room itself was clean and had plenty of drawer and wardrobe space which I did not use as only there for one night. There was a sink in the room as well as a television and tea and coffee facilities. The bed was a single bed and extremely comfortable.

The only downside to my stay was that it was A Level results night so a club/bar near by was extremely busy on a Thursday night and the music and people were very loud from around 10pm until early hours, however this is no reflection on the hostel itself.

Overall a perfect stay for what I actually needed the room for. I didn't have the opportunity to attend breakfast but it was included in the price I paid. Would highly recommend a stay here as it is great value for money and a lot cheaper and in a better location than some of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

....at the end of our boating trip on the Wey Navigation was excellent and very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and helpful - setting up tables for us outside in the sunshine. A full English breakfast was £4.85 which included toast and tea or coffee. There is a lighter version for £4.20 and they also do a continental breakfast. The restaurant is clean and has a great view over the canal. All in all, we had a great time on this, our second visit and I think it has become a fitting finale to our annual weekend on the canal boat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

It is probably the only option if you need to spend a night in Guildford. The few hotels are over expensive, BBs are spread out and not too cheap either. YMCA is very covenient, central, close to the station and well catered for. Something more than a regular hostel, with studio ensuite rooms, kitchens at every floor, social and events venues. The breakfast room overlooks the river and provides adequate meals. However it is certainly no frills, rooms are very standard, basic to sadness. Again the ubiquitous presence of the carpet does not help fresness and smell. Noise is also a problem as the hostel is surrounded by main roads on three sides, being basically placed in the middle of a roundabout. Being the only affordable accommodation in town you may also get overnight people coming back from pubs and discos, which face the hostel. Rooms facing the quiet side are recommendable as they also overlook the river.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face busy streets, but there is a quiet side overlooking the river. Riverfacing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I booked one night Single, shared bathroom, and 12 days Twin Ensuite. The shared toilet / bathroom are unexpected clean. Single good and nice.

Nice Twin Ensuite, big bathroom, clean. Room lighting is bit dim, no desk lamp. There is no thermostat for the heater, if I need to open the window, I can't closed the curtain! Closed the curtain, window can't open, funny!! Room privacy concerned, next to the river walkway. People can see from the bridge and the opposite building. Also another funny things is, long stay Kattle will not provided as replied from front desk! (I know there's one in the Kitchenette, but don't want to clean everytime just for a cup of hot water.) Mattress too soft.

Food are nice. Breakfast, a bit cold. Staff we met are nice. Kitchenette is clean and tidy.

One thing I must point out, one night around 19:00 while I am using the shared PC, a man came to me and ask for clothes, while I am thinking what's going on, he said he is homeless. I told him I travel here and don't have spare, he's frustrated and he asked for money...... What I want to point out your front desk staff should give clear directions and watch if this man is going to the right way, not disturb any other people. May be that's why all local friends of mine know I am staying in YMCA gives negative repsones. After that, I am quite concern the security and why my room didn't have additional inside lock. Hope next visit your renovation work finished and all rooms equiped with internet.

In conclude, YMCA is a good choice, good value of money. However, if you are female and not accompany with a man, you should consider your safety / security.
We have a pleasant stay and YMCA would be my first choice of next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have been staying at the YMCA Guildford for the past few weeks as I am on business in the area. I have been staying at least 3 nights a week at a cost of £54 a night so not cheap. This week I have been accommodated on a different floor in the hostel and I noticed there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room as there had been on previous stays. I asked the staff member on duty if I was able to access these facilities, he was very rude and said he was unable to confirm on what basis I had booked my room as these facilites are not available to all guests. I confirmed I was a fully paying guest at the hostel and his suggestion of me taking up my issue with the manager in the morning, I felt, was unacceptable. This attitude has put me off staying here, I was made to feel like a stupid school girl rather than the legal professional that I am, and his 'don't give a damn' attitude stank!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuildfordYMCA, Manager at Guildford YMCA, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
At Guildford YMCA staff take customer care and service very seriously, and we were upset to read about this guest's experience. I was able to contact her whilst she was still staying with us, and I hope assured her that this matter will be dealt with approprately and quickly as we do not wish our guests to leave our premises with a bad impression. This guest sent a very gracious and understanding response to my communication, and will hopefully make a return visit to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guildford YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford YMCA

Address: Bridge Street, Guildford GU1 4SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford YMCA 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guildford YMCA offers excellent value for money accommodation in a town centre location. The comfortable bedrooms each feature a writing desk, colour TV and private telephone with voicemail. Some are en-suite whilst others share the adjoining shower and toilet with one other room. The on-site restaurant offers a range of freshly prepared meals at reasonable prices. Guildford’s prestigious High Street is just three minutes away, along with the bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Guildford YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guildford YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.