We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding at the Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Guildford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Guildford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Guildford
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Guildford
lincoln
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding at the Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

My daughter booked her wedding here only eight weeks prior to the date (Sunday 02 May). I was rather anxious when I read some of the hotel reviews but they were completely unfounded. The wedding itself was lovely - the Registrar could not have been better - the ceremony was quite moving. The whole day was marvellous - the staff went out of their way to ensure that everything was spot-on. Thanks especially to Nicki (the Wedding Organiser) and Aaron who ensured that all went well. The wedding breakfast could not have been better - it was delicious - (they chose the three course buffet with cold starter, four hot meat/fish dishes with accompanying vegetables and a selection of wonderful desserts (followed by coffee and mints)) - and that was the opinion of the fifty people who sat down to eat.

We stayed for two nights - the bedrooms were faultless and we enjoyed using the spa facilities. The rooms were quiet with everything you would need. Breakfast was varied and delicious and the hot food was hot! No complaints from any one of us. One guest, who has booked her wedding venue elsewhere, said she was thinking of changing to the Holiday Inn as she was so impressed.

Two small criticisms: the bar was quite expensive (probably the difference in price in the South of England compared to the midlands); the jaccuzi was not working whilst we we there. Neither of these made any difference to our overall enjoyment - I'm just being totally honest in my review.

Overall everyone had a wonderful time - the bride and groom had the best day ever - and the staff at the Holiday Inn could not be faulted!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
I was delighted to read your recent review regarding your daughter's wedding at the hotel, particularly as you had read some previous reviews which had initially concerned you. I have passed on your very kind comments to the members of my team and do hope to see you at the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Jane Garnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    150
    92
    20
    13
See reviews for
95
73
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Not good people. Dirty carpet in the lounge, rooms have certainly seen better days, and the Reception staff were uninterested to say the least. The icing on the cake was the rude housekeeper (I believe she was the manager) who barged in at 7.30 am each morning without even an apology (I had a do not disturb on both mornings!).
I'm told there are better hotels in the area, so I would avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, June 4, 2010
I was most concerned to read your review and would be grateful if you could get in touch so I can restore your faith in Holiday Inn Guildford. Please be assured your experience was by no means typical of our usual standards of service and guest care.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards
Jane Garnett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My stay at this hotel was a huge disappointment. I paid way too much for the room and service I got. The room smelled very strong from dogs, the bathroom had not been properly cleaned at all. I definitely don't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
I was most concerned to read your review further to your stay at the hotel. I would be grateful if you could get in touch so I can find out which room you stayed in and also to restore your faith in Holiday Inn Guildford. Kind Regards Jane Garnett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed for our Anniversary in September and HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RESPONSE TO OUR LETTER commenting on our experience!

The room was an OK standard - but nothing more. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work, and neither did the air con in the rooms. Our room got very hot, and the windows did not open - we had to propr them open with a bin!! Which is when we noticed the mouldy window frames and condensation on the windows.

We decided to have our evening meal at the Hotels restaurant. the service and food was the worst we had experienced and comp[letely ruined our anniversary. It took 30 minutes for our order to be taken and a further 40 minutes for our food to arrive - our starters never appeared! The fod was cold, and my chicken was over cooked so much it was hard and brown! We were not seen to at our table and had to get a waitress ourselves and ask for the manager, 30 minutes later we had to ask again!! BY THIS TIME SERVICE HAD FINISHED AND WE WENT TO BE HUNGRY!! And seeing that the hotel is too far a distance from any take away restaurants, we had to wait until breakfast before we had anything to eat.

To add insult to injury we have had no response from the hotels management or Holiday Inn regarding our experience. Very disappointed and lost faith in Holiday Inn brand.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGuildford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Further to my message via Trip Advisor thank you for getting in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. Please be assured your experience was by no means typical of our usual standards of service and we hope to restore your faith in Holiday Inn Guildford. Kind regards, Jane Garnett, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

From the beginning the hotel was great - easy to find, great welcome by reception, Good sized family room and an appealing leisure centre. Our reason for the visit was to visit family locally easter weekend and treat the kids to day at legoland easter day. It was a long journey for us so we stayed in the hotel for dinner on the Friday night - had table service from the bar and the kids felt super special by the attention they received (thank you). Saturday morning we went for a dip in the pool - quiet, clean and really helpful staff, mid morning we left to spend the day with family a short distance away. Saturday night we decided to dine in the restaurant off the buffet and take full advantage of kids under 12 eat free - great choice, better for us as our kids love their veg and trying new dishes, service again was great! Sunday morning breakfast was really busy as the hotel was full, every table in sight was laid up and the staff pulled it out of the bag and kept us all happy. Check out - everything was spot on and quick AND the kids were given an easter egg too (unexpected but welcome surprise). Thank you and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Holiday Inn's charge the earth, but they're basically just Travelodges with some shower gel and a tea bag thrown in.... and this one is typical. Void of any personality, heart or passion. Stay at the no frills hotel nearby and buy your shower gel and tea bags from the "stones throw away" Tesco. You'll save a bundle.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

1 night Saturday night stay .
For the price we paid (£55 b&b for the two of us) I could not fault the hotel itself.
Good size room , well lit - everywhere clean, plenty of seating in the lounge.
Staff were very good - efficient and chatty , especially the receptionist and breakfast crew.
If I had been paying the full price, I wouldn't have been happy with the internet access costs, rather firm bed or pealing bath panel.

However the restaurant was very expensive for the quality, presentation etc of the food and drinks especially the wine are expensive as others have warned. But there isnt exactly anywhere else within walking distance to eat out at and I suppose this is the South of England.

Breakfast was average with good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Guildford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guildford

Address: Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guildford 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Guildford, a modern full-service hotel, close to Guildford Town Centre and only 29 miles from London with easy access via the M25/ A3 and by train. The hotel is located near the Guildford Business Parks & FIVE Exhibition Centre . The hotel offers 168 air conditioned bedrooms including accessible (4) & family rooms. The hotel has high speed internet access available throughout and WIFI in the public areas. Stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford hotel & enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner in the Restaurant or have a 'light bite' in our Bar/Lounge. Kids eat, Stay free!* Holiday Inn Guildford is a Legoland hotel , and also close to other local attractions such as Chessington World of Adventures, Thorpe Park & Wisley Gardens. The Academy Conference Centre at the hotel is a leading Meetings venue in Guildford offering superb meeting rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates with extensive on-site car parking available. The hotel is also a premier Wedding venue in Guildford, Surrey. 'Spirit' at Holiday Inn Guildford is an excellent fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool, fitness studio and gym with a wide range of Beauty treatments available. *Terms & Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Guildford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guildford Hotel Guildford
Guildford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Guildford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.