We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely meal...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shardana

Shardana
186 High Street, Guildford GU1 3HW, England
01483 560 752
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 214 restaurants in Guildford
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Following our wedding party at Shardana in June, we went back last night and the food & service were again perfect. Highly recommended...try the Brie & Mushroom Crostini

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    64
    30
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Marvellous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We hear the pizza is great. But we haven't had it yet because we've enjoyed going through their other dishes so far. I'm sure we will get to the pizza eventually. The service is fantastic and friendly. The sound can be a bit abrasive as the surfaces bounce the noise a round. They do have an outdoor seating area though and if you get there early enough you won't have to worry about the noise.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Decent cafe style pizzeria/pasta house”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Ate here early on a Saturday evening with my wife and two teenage children. We were shown to our table and our drinks order was soon served. We then waited 30 minutes before our meal was ordered. I could not seem to catch the eye of the several waitresses moving around. In that time very little food came out over the server from the kitchen. Eventually our meal order was taken and some 20 minutes later our pizza and pasta dishes were served, nearly one hour after our arrival.

All the food was decent quality, but lacked imagination and real interest. My pasta dish was described as: Tagliatelle al Bue: Beef, mushrooms, cream, chilli and white wine sauce. I'm afraid there was no sign of mushrooms or chilli and the "beef" was cubes of some intensely processed meat, rather reminiscent of pet food. The pizza's were OK.

By the time we left the restaurant was about full. A main dish and one drink came to £18 per head plus service.

I'm afraid that the quality of the food and the time taken to order and serve are meal were all disappointments. Maybe we did not see Shardana at its best?!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A memorable birthday dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Once again we were charmed by the excellent level of service and the good food served at my birthday party!
You can tell the difference from a chain restaurant! The staff are attentive and enthusiastic, the food is very good.
They really know how to handle groups and we were very well looked after!
When you are in shardana you feel that in the kitchen they known what they are doing and this is reflected by the service which is not detached but really makes you feel welcomed and important!
A special thanks to Mery. Keep up hard work.


Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Honest food with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wide varied menu, authentic Italian food. Best pizza in Guildford. Staff are very friendly, happy to make recommendations. Good for romance, but best for business dinners or group dining.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shardana also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Shardana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shardana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.