We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart pub grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of horse and groom

horse and groom
Epsom Road | Merrow, Guildford GU1 2RG, England
01483 575375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 228 Restaurants in Guildford
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Smart pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Upmarket pub food. The setting is bordering on chic. A modern theme which doesn't detract from the original building. It's been done with considerable thought. They keep a very nice pint and serve well prepared food. We were very pleased with the service - but they weren't busy when we went there late on a weekday. Gammon steaks prepared deliciously, a good range of starters. The Eton Mess was rather heavy on the cream, but tasty nonetheless. A good site, too, on the main road with plenty of parking. Another welcoming point: friendly locals. That's an authentic pub feature which you can't simply buy in!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    18
    28
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, beer, decor and service. What more can one say. Had dinner here one evening and can't fault the place. Appeared to be recently redecorated in a modern rustic style. There is a real fire which we were lucky enough to get a seat next to. lovely food and the bar staff were cherful, helpful and efficient.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Second time we've had poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Second time we'd been - previously on a Sunday when we'd had to skip desserts as the service was so slow and the 2 children (under 5 yrs) were getting restless. The experience was no better this time. The children's "fish fingers" were a smaller version of adult fish and chips complete with large bones. The children's side salad was unsuitable - mostly green leaves and raw onion and no tomatoes. My adult son's fries were "skin on" when he'd made a point of asking and been told "no skin" - he suffers with Crohn's so has to avoid roughage. We were there for 3 hours. Admittedly we took a long time to choose our starters, hence went to the back of the queue - but once again we had to skip desserts because of the poor service. Their "extensive wine knowledge" is not important - good service is. We won't be going again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very slow service for Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our party of 7 arrived at 1pm for a reserved table. We were asked to order drinks without being offered the drinks menu. I should have realised there were problems when I spotted the adjacent table's diners playing cards. We waited an hour and 5 minutes for our main course to arrive, having had a plate of bread, garlic and oil meantime. We asked the waitress twice for more drinks, then gave up and went to the bar. The food was plentiful and tasty and the waiting staff polite but everything moved at a snail's pace. The puddings included a luke warm fruit crumble. What a shame, the decor was great and atmosphere good, but we left after nearly 3 hours without bothering asking for coffee. The manager said they had staff off sick and accepted our criticisms. We didn't leave a tip, I won't be going back on a Sunday again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not enough staff spoiled the day .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

First of all I have to say the food was really very good indeed ! 7 of us for lunch and it's a lovely pub but you need the staff when it's busy .. And it was ! They were a friendly smiling bunch but I don't expect to wait 45 minutes for the food or get up and ask for the drinks a 3rd time. Maybe Sunday lunchtime is too much for them. I have been before in the week and no such problems so I may have caught them on a bad day ... If all the staff are on duty you will have a very good time. Ps ... Did I say the food was excellent !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed horse and groom also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
Guildford, Surrey
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to horse and groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage horse and groom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.