We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a drink or an informal meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drummond

The Drummond
55-56 Woodbridge Road, Guildford GU1 4RF, England
+44 1483 579395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 228 Restaurants in Guildford
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The cream of Guildford pubs.You'll find The Drummond just outside Guildford Cricket Club, but you won't find another like it. There's always something good on, even if it's just in the culinary sense, so park yourself on one of our old-school bar stools and indulge in a plate of superb seasonal pub food, which you can see being freshly prepared in our open kitchen. Plus we've got more wines, spirits and speciality beers than you can shake a wicket keeper at. Put it this way, we know our Pilsner from our Peroni. Thank you to everyone that takes the time to review us! We appreciate all feedback and look forwards to seeing you again soon or meeting you for the first time.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink or an informal meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Go here a lot and the food is generally very good. They do a nice roast dinner and the menu is pretty varied. Nice place just to go for a drink too. The quiz night on a Sunday is a bit long winded!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very bad meal... Service good and friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went for a few drinks and a bite to eat Saturday evening. Menu looked good...we both ordered Salmon fish cakes with a coleslaw type accompaniment and potato wedges and a side of vegetables.
First of all the potato wedges were obviously old jacket potatoes that had been deep fried in old oil... they were actually black with grey potato inside. Salmon fish cakes were dry and tasteless and as for the coleslaw there was literally a teaspoon of it. Side order of veg was old tired looking root veg by the look of it.
Shame as the menu looked good. If your a chef and your happy to send that out to a customer then you really should not be working as a chef.
Luckily the waitress was helpful and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elunedsian, Manager at The Drummond, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello Lee
I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at The Drummond.
As you can see by the other review this is not the usual service that people receive at the Drummond.
If you could take the time to email me at enquiry@thedrummondguildford.co.uk or call me on 01483 579395 mentioning this review I would like to talk to you more about your experience.

Kind regards

Sian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My friends were organising a night out in Guildford for my 40th, so took the advice of a local and they recommended The Drummond.

An excellent choice of ales, beers and lagers on tap as well as some weird and wonderful choices in bottles.

We booked a table, which is highly recommended as we were here on Friday night.

They had a deal with two meals and two drinks for £20, which was a bargain.

I had a burger with pulled pork and a side order of beer battered black pudding. Both were excellent and everyone enjoyed their meals.

Highly recommended, and I hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best pub food in Guildford.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pub food at its best and a wide selection of ales. Nice atmosphere and daily menu with some dishes that are outside the ordinary pub menu. Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were two French tourists desperately looking for a pub after a day visiting Guildford and its surroundings. We eventually found The Drummond!

I had a grilled salmon with a rich tomato cream, beans and a potato and my fiancé had a hamburger. Both dishes were great. My dish was perfect, I have hardly eaten such a good dish even in famous French restaurants!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drummond also viewed

 

Been to The Drummond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drummond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.