We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The details let this lovely hotel down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wotton House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wotton House to your Saves list
Wotton House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guildford Road | Wotton, Dorking RH5 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The details let this lovely hotel down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend when we stayed last fri and sat for our Anniversary in superior room on dinner b&b package, hotel and grounds beautiful, on arrival reception area was very cold but staff were friendly, our room 306 was a reasonable size and nicely furnished but let down by the bathroom, the ceiling was covered in a large patch of mould as were the tops of the arched windows in the bathroom, this was really disappointing in a room that appeared to have been refurbished. Beware that this hotel is geared towards Weddings, there had been one on the Friday and the only hotel bar was packed with wedding guests (it appears there are no bar facilities in the function rooms? And therefore paying hotel guests have to share the bar area with noisy functions, not what you want on a romantic weekend, but there is no other bar area for guests and there is no entertainment, a pianist would have been lovely... ) On Saturday at breakfast, the buffet breakfast had been decimated by the wedding guests, there was no bacon, no eggs, no juice and a long queue both sides of the buffet, not the service expected of a 4 star hotel. We walked around the gardens after breakfast but were stunned to find glasses littered all over the formal gardens on the ground and in hedges and on walls clearly left by inconsiderate wedding guests and not cleared by the hotel staff by 10am the following day? We took a drive out Saturday morning and headed back for lunch at the hotel, We sat out on the bar terrace in the sun and had our lunch uncomfortably surrounded by wedding guests arriving, fortunately they then left for the ceremony, but we then noticed a sign on the bar terrace reserving the whole area for wedding guests only for the afternoon...so where are the paying hotel guests supposed to go? On Saturday evening we were now prepared that the bar would again be busy with wedding guests overflowing to get drinks from the bar, we went to the restaurant for dinner for the 2nd time, disappointingly the Menu is very limited for a hotel restaurant, more like a pub menu, again certainly not 4 star, and the specials of the day were exactly the same as the previous night? I certainly couldn't have spent another night with this menu, The steak for which there is an extra charge for incl guests was not worth the money. Overall the hotel is lovely in a beautiful setting with great gardens and good leisure facilities although we found the pool too cold for comfort. Sadly the details, the bathroom mould, the one bar, the wedding guests clearly taking priority, the depleted breakfast and the limited dinner menu all let what could be a great hotel down.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you found our hotel and grounds to be beautiful but disappointed that you found the wedding guests to be noisy. Unfortunately we are not always able to control loud wedding guests. However I am currently researching various options in terms of providing additional bar services to eliminate this issue of wedding guests sharing the main bar with our other guests.

Regarding the food at breakfast being sparse your comments have been passed to the Operations Manager and kitchen staff to ensure this issue does not arise again.

Please accept my apologies for the issues you have raised and thank you again for your comments

Best Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    173
    129
    84
    43
See reviews for
92
270
16
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Whilst this hotel has a lovely location and good facilities for conferences and leisure, the rooms and bathrooms are in real need of updating - the beds are incredibly springy and soft, when you sit on them you sink in, which is really uncomfortable. The food which if you're a big group (>10), you must book in advance, wasn't that tasty. And the hotel doesn't have any mobile reception.
A gorgeous venue but in need of some updating!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

Please be aware that we are hoping to commence a refurbishment programme on a number of our bedrooms. Your feedback regarding the food has been passed back to the Head Chef.

Thank you again for bringing your views to my attention.

Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is set in beautiful grounds on edge of Dorking, great for weddings.
The hotel is in an old building so expect a few creaks and draughts. The standard rooms are ok but the bathrooms could do with a refurb and the beds are on the small side. The restaurant was good and not overpriced given the location, however breakfast was a little disappointing as we were after the conference rush and some items hadn't been replaced.
The hotel is handy for Gatwick and a change from the usual soulless chains. Would stay again but pay the extra for a better room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you found the grounds of Wotton to be beautiful and the restaurant food to be good quality. Regarding the breakfast items I have passed your comments back to the Kitchen staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Wotton house in the near future

Best Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here with work. It is situated in the country and is therefore very quiet and peaceful. I have stayed here a few times and the service has definitely improved over the years. The only reason for the score of four rather than higher is that the bedroom was so hot and I couldn't find a way to control it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you feel the service has improved as we always strive to maintain a high level of service here at Wotton House.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue with the temperature control in the bedroom. I have passed this back to the Maintenance team to address.

Best Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 40th birthday party at Wotton house and felt that I had to share our experience with others.
From the moment we drove into the hotel and were greeted by the magnificent gardens and impressive house we felt special.
Check in was quick and the staff at the check in desk were friendly and polite, we had upgraded to a superior room and we weren't disappointed, the room was beautifully decorated with a clean bathroom and a big bed that was so comfortable neither of us wanted to get up in the morning. Being a birthday celebration we spent a lot of the day in the bar area where the lunch menu was nice and reasonably priced, even though there was a big wedding on the same day and the bar was busy the staff coped really well and we never had a problem getting served.
Our dinner that evening was served in The drawing room which was a beautiful high
ceilinged,wooden lined room with an open fire, again the food was good and the waitresses were brilliant.
Before breakfast the next morning we used the spa facilities, which were a welcome treat after the previous nights excesses, the pool was clean and a good size with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all decorated in a Roman baths theme. Breakfast was a buffet style with everything from fresh fruit, Danish pastries, cereal to a lovely hot selection.
Our party had an amazing time at Wotton House and my wife and I are already enquiring about returning with the kids at Easter.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words and taking the time to post these on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you found our building to be impressive and the gardens to be magnificent. I am also please to hear that the staff were helpful and professional and you found the food to be of a high standard

I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future

Best Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here as my wife had heard about it and it looked like a fantastic hotel from the photos. It cost £120 for the night and we were very disappointed.

On arrival we asked about a late check out and one of the receptionists was very abrupt and rude. The other was visibly embarrassed by this and tried to ignore it but no apology.

The evening was a disaster as there were functions on and they had obviously not got enough staff to cover the restaraunt or bar.

There was one guy in the bar it was busy, filthy and completely stacked with dirty glasses, plates and cups everywhere. At one point the rude receptionist arrived in looking for a clean teapot and cup to serve tea but couldn't find any and let out a scream. Astonishing.

We eventually got served and having the same order twice were charged different prices each time.

We decide to give up and retired to our room. The curtains were still open and i thought i saw what looked like a reflection on the bed.

When I had a closer look with the main lights on the bed and mattress were stained beyond belief. please see photos.

As a result I couldn't bring myself to eat breakfast so we checked out and had breakfast elsewhere.

Never again and what a rip off at £120

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest

It is very disappointing to read your comments on Trip Advisor.

We have clearly on this occasion fallen below expectation. I would like to apologise for the unprofessionalism displayed by our staff member as well as the other issues encountered and rest assured I am investigating these matters further to ensure they are not repeated again in the future.

Regarding the bed mattress please be aware that valences have been ordered whilst we wait for our new beds to arrive, and I apologise again that your stay was not as you had hoped.

Best Regards,

Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This old House converted into a nice quality hotel. Courtyard is picture perfect. Walking in the Hotels makes you feel you are in historical times and makes you wonder.

The rooms are relatively small, and cold during the night.

It has very nice breakfast service

Overall good service.

Room Tip: Make sure you have extra blanket during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WottonHouse, General Manager at Wotton House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments.

We value our guest’s feedback greatly and use it to help monitor and maintain our high level of service.

I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Thomas Armes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wotton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wotton House

Address: Guildford Road | Wotton, Dorking RH5 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wotton House 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small dogs allowed with a £50 deposit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Wotton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wotton House Hotel Dorking
Wotton Hotel Dorking
Wotton House Dorking, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wotton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.