We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for work, will return for leisure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waltons

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorking
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waltons
5 Rose Hill, Dorking RH4 2EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Dorking B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stayed for work, will return for leisure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A beautifully presented B&B with a very warm welcome (helped by the friendly resident cat and dog! :-) and fantastic chocolate cake for guests! Everything you could want for a stay in Dorking, with the town centre just a short stroll away. Shame I was staying for one night for work and couldn't stay longer, such a nice break in a busy week, thanks so much!

Room Tip: Two rooms with an ensuite shower, one with a bath in a separate but private bathroom, so a good choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Waltons, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a glowing review. I'm glad you enjoyed the homemade cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
11
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My friend and I just spent a night at this lovely B & B. The room overlooking a beautiful garden was quiet and comfortable with loads of character befitting the age of the house. The full English breakfast was great with more tea and coffee offered. The position so close to the town centres makes it an easy stroll to the High Street for an evening meal. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Highly recommend this B&B. Quiet setting (sheep on the green!) but just steps from the adorable town center. Maggie and Richard are the loveliest humans, and their pets are lovely as well. Great memories and fond hopes for returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed at The Waltons during a trip to England a couple of years back. I can't believe I'm just now writing this - but I have so many fond memories of the place (and remember it so often) that I really wanted to share them.

Maggie & Richard were amazing hosts. Maggie's breakfasts are incredible, and her garden is so cute. Plus, the b & b is perfectly located for walks into the center of Dorking for shopping, coffee, an Indian dinner, or an evening at one of the small, friendly pubs. It's also perfectly situated for long walks across gorgeous green fields with incredible views of the town below and to a nearby country pub that was GREAT (good food, and people arrived on horseback while I was there - it was really cool!).

I recommended The Waltons to my best friend and her boyfriend, and they visited a year or so later – and loved it as much as I did. Again, this b&b and the folks who run it are a delight and made my vacation one of my fondest travel memories.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on Valentine's day, and liked it so much that we decided to stay a second night. The house is beautiful, on a lovely circular street on a hill, which has a sort of field in the middle of it with sheep in it, but is also extremely conveniently located about 4 mins from the centre of Dorking. Our room was lovely and our hosts were extremely welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed with Maggie and her family of humans and hounds whilst we were in the process of emigrating from Dorking to New Zealand. They all made us feel so welcome, at quite an emotionally draining time, the service was exemplary, a true pearl amongst B&B's and if you travel from overseas to the UK, the Waltons have a British home to be almightily envious of. The rooms are cosy, clean and splendidly serviced, breakfast delightful and it was lovely having the hounds around. We only wish that we will be on enough return trips to stay often.
Thank you Maggie, thank you so much. Paul, Cath and Laura. Oooh...and the cake is devine!

Room Tip: Book early and don't forget to book breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've stayed at The Waltons on four occasions now and have always received the same warm welcome. The house is beautiful, full of lovely antique furniture and interesting pictures. Breakfast (an extraordinary variety of good food on offer) is served in the dining room with the fire lit in the hearth. The rooms are airy and comfortable, again with lovely antique furnitue, but also with all mod cons. The room I just stayed in had a beautiful view across the town to the Surrey hills (Ranmore). The house is in a unique position: there is a field of sheep directly in front of it giving the impression of a quiet rural aspect, but in fact it's only two minutes' walk from the town centre. Rooms are well stocked with leaflets and books on the surrounding area. The beautiful countryside and nearby villages are ideal for hiking or touring and yet there are regular train services to London which is only 45 minutes away.

Room Tip: The double room at the front of the house has a beautiful view over the town to the Surrey hills. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waltons

Address: 5 Rose Hill, Dorking RH4 2EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waltons is a listed house in a conservation area. Dorking is situated in the midst of the Surrey Hills with easy access to London and both its airports. The coastal towns of Brighton and Worthing are a short journey, as are plentiful attractions including many National Trust properties.You are sure to find a warm welcome at The Waltons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waltons Dorking, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waltons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Waltons to your Saves list