We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon tea and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH56BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my family of nine to Burford Bridge Hotel for afternoon tea today and it was great. The manager introduced himself whilst waiting in the reception area, and checked for any special requirements and our preference for the location. Nothing was too much trouble and the actual afternoon tea food was fresh and a good selection of sandwiches and cakes.
Will return if the opportunity arises.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback please be assured that your kind comments have been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    83
    54
    29
    16
See reviews for
68
95
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stay after a wedding in January. Warm in all areas, it was a very cold day. Excellent food arrived at table hot. Huge selection at breakfast, could not try it all!! One complaint, could not get a cup of tea during the evening at the reception.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was very positive to read that you enjoyed you stay here at Burford Bridge Hotel. However we do apologise that you were unable to get a cup of tea at the Wedding reception. We have passed on your comments to the relevant departments and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband booked us in here for our wedding anniversary as a surprise. Everything was lovely. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was great and the staff were so helpful and pleasant. Would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: there is also a large heated outdoor pool. GF rooms have doors that open into garden area - great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments. I was very pleased to read that your room was comfortable and spacious and that the food was great. It is always a pleasure to read that our staff were so helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Burford Bridge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We held our wedding here in June 2013 and we thought it was fabulous! It's near my home town and we had our first date on Boxhill so it was a fitting venue for us!

We had the gold package and it was just perfect, thanks to the team there our day was fantastic. It all ran smoothly. the events team were very helpful and patient with all my e-mails! The chef and his team did a wonderful job for our taster menu, wedding day breakfast and the evening buffet.
The management team on the day were extremely helpful in the preparation on the wedding day, right through until our last guest left! Pav, our toast master was excellent and really understood the theme of our day.

If you're thinking of hosting your wedding day there I would highly recommend it!

The Bride!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful wedding day with us here at the Burford Bridge Hotel . Congratulations and good luck for the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weybridge
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I only stayed one night as I was attending a wedding close by. The hotel was busy (as there was a wedding there too) but the reception staff were helpful and pleasant. I was in one of their executive rooms which was expensive for what it was. Rather dated, tv pixilated, an empty mini bar, no safe, basic toiletries and ONE towel.
The bed was comfortable and the room/bathroom clean. Good tea and coffee and biscuits. Complimentary newspaper. Breakfast finished at 9.30am which for a Sunday morning is too early and I missed it!
Overall not brilliant value for money but a comfortable and convenient nights sleep

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Burford Bridge Hotel . I was pleased to read that you found the staff helpful and pleasant and apologise that you found the room to be dated , please be assured I have taken your comments on board and will review them with the team here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A trip to Box Hill Burford Bridge is becoming an annual event for us.

On this occasion we combined a day at the RHS at Wisley with a day walking in the Surrey Hills.

On arrival we were allocated a room in the main building overlooking the garden (previously we have been placed in the annexe) – the room was okay and comfortable enough but a little stuffy until we opened up the windows.

As usual we made use of the large swimming pool and sun loungers before drinks and then dinner in the near deserted restaurant (although the function room next door was buzzing with quite a large wedding celebration).

We ordered from both the fixed menu and the more expensive a-la-carte – food quality and presentation was generally good but not quite the “rosette” standard we’ve experienced previously (perhaps they were busy catering for the wedding?).

Breakfast the next morning was buistling - good selection of well prepared food on offer – staff working very hard replenishing the breakfast buffet & clearing plates etc.

Although we found the place a little quiet and lacking in atmosphere, all of the staff we encountered were very pleasant and welcoming from the front desk on our arrival – the pool attendant – the staff in the restaurant (particularly at breakfast) and the bar.

Overall this was a relaxing overnight break in a very pleasant location.

Would we return? Most likely we would – but probably only in summer when we can enjoy cooling off in the pool after a day’s walking the nearby hills.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent comments after staying here at the Burford Bridge Hotel . I was pleased to read that you found the staff pleasant and welcoming and that generally you enjoyed your stay with us . we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and would recommend booking one of our garden rooms with views of our gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH56BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.