We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH56BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

So, having had to move out of our house for 4 weeks, we have been staying in a number of hotels in the area. I can honestly say this is the best! We've stayed at Woodlands Park in Cobham, Wotton House in Dorking, and now we are lucky enough to be at Burford Bridge for a week.

Of course it's not faultless, as another reviewer has pointed out, room service is impossible to get hold of, however the Spanish guy on reception was happy to take our order and pass it on. In fact he was all round fantastic! Carried our bags, showed us how to work the DVD player (couldn't get picture on tv), nothing is too much trouble.

We've found all staff very accommodating. The guy around the pool is very attentive and polite, helpful etc. and the pool itself is lovely.

The rooms are a bit on the small side, but nicely furnished, good tv /DVD' comfy beds, tea/coffee making facilities, good bathroom and products. We have the inter-connecting rooms as we are here with our two young children. These rooms are on the ground floor, near the pool and have a nice little outdoor space, which is great in the current weather. Air con also a bonus (we haven't had air con in either of the other two hotels).

Oh, and even though there were weddings/parties going on, once the doors were closed we were not disturbed at all, and if anything when we were sat in the outside area it was nice to listen to the music etc.

No complaints from us, and I would be the first to complain if necessary.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us during your house move and that you and your family have had the chance to make the most of the hotel facilities including the outdoor pool.
We always expect our guests to receive high class service and look forward to welcoming you back to the Burford Bridge Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    77
    43
    26
    15
See reviews for
53
82
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice comfy room, plenty of space and good TV and washroom facilities. The bed was bit and comfy and the air con most welcome!

Service at the breakfast and check in was good but the room service was almost impossible to get hold of and very grumpy when finally answered. Delivery was fine.

Breakfast was nice and overall I would recommend this as a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the air conditioning in the beautiful weather we have been experiencing.
I will speak to my team regarding the service you received on taking your room service order as this is not up to our usual standard. We always expect our guests to receive high class service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burford Bridge Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Having booked afternoon tea it was a disappointment to stand in Reception awaiting some sort of welcome. After an uncomfortable wait my host and I asked for direction. The staff must surely have been aware of our presence and once they had finished their discussion we were waved in the direction of the bar area. No welcoming smile and we were left to seat ourselves. Another lengthy wait and another unsmiling member of staff. Having booked afternoon tea it was surprising to be brought tea without being asked what we actually wanted. Again a long wait for sandwiches and cake, my host finally asking for help from a passing member of management. The sandwiches,cake and scones were enjoyable but the lack of any interest on behalf of the staff couldn't be overlooked. Left to our own devices with no further contact from staff we were not offered more tea, or even a bill. There was a wedding elsewhere in the hotel and it may well be that there was a shortage of staff but surely a smile and an explanation would have created a more positive impression? We treat ourselves to tea regularly and have had pleasant experiences in a range of hotels across Surrey,including other Mercure hotels. I hope this is an exception rather than the rule.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for recently writing a review about your visit to the Burford Bridge Hotel . I was disappointed to read that your experience of afternoon tea was not a great one and please be assured that this was most definitely and exception as apposed to our normal high standard. I have addressed these concerns with our team and hope you will return and have a much more enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset. England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I attended the wedding of Maria and Philip last weekend and have to say that the whole occasion was fantastic. When we looked at the wedding breakfast menu about half an hour before the sit down we realised that the starter and dessert would not be suitable for my wife as she needs a lactose free diet. I spoke to Kevin the Banqueting Manager who said no problem and a lactose free starter and dessert was served. Overall the food was superb including the buffet in the evening. The drinks prices were what one would expect in a hotel like this and it was lovely to sit outside on a beautiful summer's evening and talk to old friends. The disco caused no problem in the evening air. We did not stay over as we had left it too late to book a room, so stayed elsewhere. Thanks also to Csaba head waiter and his team for excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding Maria and Philips wedding celebrations that you recently attended. Our staff pride themselves on a high level of service and are delighted that we could attend to your requirements promptly. I will ensure your comments are passed onto Kevin and Csaba
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burford Bridge Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The location is lovely, the hotel is well thought out & nicely furnished, the staff were faultless & the facility of an outdoor pool was a real bonus given the current weather we are having.
We had breakfast & dinner at the hotel. The breakfast was second to none and the dinner was very good.
We also had drinks at the bar, the staff were very accommodating & the bar offered an very good selection of drinks, wines, beers & cocktails.
I look forward to staying at The Burford Bridge again very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burford Bridge Hotel again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel has a lovely outlook with a pretty lawned garden and lots of trees. There's a good-sized pool. The only problem was a very noisy disco that went on till 1.00 a.m. on Saturday for a wedding. The dining room was also overwhelmed on Sunday morning with the number of guests for breakfast and ran out of food. The staff were lovely and we loved our stay. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in a garden room and this had a nice enclosed balcony. It was very hot and the aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent review , I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be addressing the concern about breakfast . we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Cannot comment on rooms as only attended a reception there. VERY expensive drinks for captive audience. Be prepared to book your own cab! Asked at the bar and had a card thrust at me for DIY. A friend had a similar response when asking at the main reception. Not exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this grade. Swimming pool looked pleasant enough. Can understand the comments of others finding it hard to sleep if a function is going on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that your visit with us did not meet with your expectations of a 4 Star hotel. Pleased be assured I am reviewing the standard of service we deliver to ensure we exceed our guests expectations in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Address: At the Foot of Box Hill, Dorking RH56BX, England (Formerly Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Burford Bridge sits at the foot of Box Hill, with the Mole River running at the bottom of the spectaculargardens. With 57 en suite rooms, the hotel is ideal for visiting the historic town of Dorking and the scenic surroundings. Easilyaccessible via the M25, Junction 9, the hotel is 12 miles from London Gatwick Airport, 1 mile from Dorking train station. 2 AA Rosette winning restaurant, cocktail bar and lounge. 7 conference and banqueting rooms, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Burford Bridge Boxhill Hotel Dorking
Mercure Hotel Dorking
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Dorking, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.