We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
lincs, uk
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed over the New Year and found this hotel a real surprise. This hotel is located in the center of Dorking and is old, which means low ceilings. Old beams and creaky floor boards. The rooms are modern and beds very comfortable. The whole hotel was heated so nice and relaxing when cold outside. The bar and reception area are welcoming with comfy chairs and sofas for a drink. We had breakfast on the second day and we ordered off the menu as the hot buffet was not on and it was good, you do get a good selection , but not worth £ 15 pp. All the staff are friendly and helpfull

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the out buildings if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel, its warmth and character which is also commented on by many of our guests.

It is very encouraging to read that my team did meet your expectations and were hospitable, friendly and efficent, although it appears that our breakfast offering was not quite up to your expectations. This has been addressed with my food and beverage department and is being constantly monitored.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the White Horse Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    130
    89
    37
    22
See reviews for
44
122
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were just staying for b & b for one night, but we were given a very pleasant room with a comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast was very good and an improvement on our last stay at this hotel some time ago. The hotel is very conveniently located and the large car park is another advantage. The floors are a bit creaky in the old part of the hotel but that wasn't a problem where our room was located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6637, Manager at Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to upload your comments onto Tripadvisor, we value our customer’s feedback and use the website to help monitor and maintain our high standards of service.

I am delighted to hear that we met with your expectation on your recent visit and that you were suitably impressed with the location of the hotel. It was also very pleasing to read that my staff surpassed your expectations and that you very much enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

I was very pleased to hear about your comments regarding the quality of our breakfast on offer at the hotel. We have invested time and money to ensure that this service is of the highest quality, and I am pleased that you have noticed that the standard has improved.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Mercure White Horse Hotel in the near future and I would like to thank you once again for your kind comments.

With kind regards

Ed Cooper
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Came with family for Christmas Eve lunch which was probably a bad idea especially as the restaurant was empty for the entire duration of our meal.
Choosing the A La Carte menu we were appalled with the quality of the food; the soup of the day promised to be a tasty affair of chestnut and carrot. What arrived was watered down tasteless mud and after complaining I exchanged for a pâté which was not much better. The main course of steak and ale pie was just edible but accompanied with mashed potato overdosed with mustard seeds. Cheap at £16.95 per head but not worth it. Very disappointing.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

took a trip to dorking for neices wedding we stayed in the travelodge which was very good my daughter and inlaws stayed in the white horse ,excellent rooms my mother and father inlaw had room in the annex very good with 4 poster bed and everything , lovely ,
my wife and i went to collect our daughter on the sunday morn ,and we had breakfast,it was£15.75. each but it was worth every penny .juice and fruit cereals full english ,I had kippers and poached eggs very nice ,tea and coffee in abundance, Highly reccomended,

Room Tip: rooms in annex are quiet at the back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 78 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.