We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place in the middle of the High Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
South Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant place in the middle of the High Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The White Horse is located in the middle of Dorking on the main street. It's in a very good location if you don't have a car since you can walk to many pubs, restaurants and shops nearby.
I stayed 4 nights in room 115 while working in Dorking. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They let me check-in early after an overnight flight from the US. I was in room 115 in one of the buildings at the rear of the hotel. It had 2 windows overlooking the rear driveway, a queen size bed, 2 comfortable chairs around a table, a desk with another chair, an armoire containing a TV, refrigerator and tea maker, a trouser press and a good sized closet. The bathroom was large enough for one person and was well appointed and lit. The tub/shower had good water pressure and plentiful hot water after a wait of about 30 seconds. The heat was off during the day and when I asked about it I was told that it was on a timer and would come on at night. The next night the heat was on and overwhelming. It must have been 90 degrees Fahrenheit in the room. I opened the 2 windows and turned off the heat via the valve on the radiator and got to sleep a couple hours later. After that the heat was fine the remaining nights. I ate breakfast each day in the hotel. They offered a buffet with hot and cold choices. The eggs were a bit rubbery but tasted OK. Everything was else was fine. The WiFi Internet access worked well in the hotel lounge, but I could not get a usable signal in my room.

Room Tip: I hear that the rooms in the building at the rear of the hotel are more comfortable than those in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    130
    89
    37
    22
See reviews for
44
122
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, ME
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a recent business trip from the US and although this hotel has a quaint charm, the amenities are average at best from US hotel standards. The rooms are clean and well made, but they are older in style and condition. In addition, I must have dealt with at least three spiders in the room and had a difficult time regulating the room temperature via the radiator control. My room was very small compared to US standard hotel sizes and I certainly would recommend the Wooton House as a better choice if you don't mind a longer commute into Dorking. The staff are pleasant but not overly friendly. The breakfasts are very good and the restaurant and pub are sufficient. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again but I would classify this as average.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel itself is fairly clean, room was adequate but very small and basic. The bathroom was pretty dark and the decor is definitely stuck back in the 70s. Check in went fine etc. but we ordered a taxi to get to a wedding and when our party came down at the arranged time, and there was no sign of the taxi, the hotel staff went to pieces.

Rather than just calling again and checking where they were, it became like a Fawlty Towers farce with them insisting the car was outside the front, then the back, then that it was on its way and generally making it a minor issue very stressful (one of our party was doing a reading, hence it being a bit stressful to start with). All without calling the taxi service. Finally they took us seriously and called and we got to the wedding with seconds to spare but just bit frustrating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We would have given a 4 overall rating, had it not been for the lack of hot water on the morning of our departure (boiler failure). The management response was good, not charging us for the drinks we had the night before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 78 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.