We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    87
    35
    19
See reviews for
42
110
36
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We always choose the White Horse when visiting family nearby. The reception staff are warm and welcoming, the beds very comfortable, the rooms in the annexe newly refurbished, and the excellent breakfasts offer variety for all tastes. The hotel is in the centre of Dorking, with good shops close by, and easy access to the nearby countryside. The lounge has a cosy fire in this cold weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a difficult hotel to rate as it has many very engaging period elements but is clearly struggling with the problems of maintaining a very old (probably listed) building. What lifts it to a four star review is that there were many small facilities which improved the stay.
The main building (in which we stayed) really is an old coaching inn and was warm, interesting, and relaxing. The fabric of the building is clearly deteriorating (windows, roof) but this is inevitable in such a building to some extent. Carpets were worn. But if you want a shining new building you wouldn't come here anyway. The main building should be seen as something of an historical experience (written about by Dickens etc). We stayed in the main building so cannot comment on the annex (where most of the rooms seem to be).
The bar was overpriced and was pretty much deserted at all times. The meals also seemed to be overpriced. The hotel is right in the middle of the town so shops and restaurants were nearby
The rooms had tea and coffee making facilities, and ironing board.
Breakfast was excellent - hot and cold buffet (we were pleased that it included soya "milk" and vegetarian sausages) Staff were unfailingly pleasant.
We visited the four star Mercure in Dorking which is modern and more expensive and decided the White Horse was the better option for us. We paid £80 a night (inc. breakfast) on a pre-booked non-refundable basis, which was in this overpriced area, relatively reasonable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed at the White Horse a number of times on business trips, in rooms in the main hotel, the "garden block" and the rooms in between by the car park. All the rooms are comfortable, some with separate sitting rooms, and have lots of good facilities including tea and coffee, fridges, trouser press, ironing boards etc. good bathrooms with full size baths and some strange showers. The room service is fast and efficient and the meals are very ample sized. The choices at breakfast are excellent, with a menu service or a breakfast buffet, with hot and cold options. Good on site parking, and even though some of the rooms surround the car park, and are even above where you drive in, have never suffered any noise. Always seems to be fairly busy. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay in the town overnight because of the snow, my shop is just over the road so it was very convenient. Just needed a room for the night, wanted somewhere warm and comfortable to stay. My only small problem was how long it took to check in and out, seemed to take for ever! The room was large, if a bit chilly at first because of the old, original sash windows, but after I had found a heater, it was warm and cosy. I had a big king size bed which was really comfortable. (Travelodge down the road, take note!) Will go back again if it keeps snowing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have used this hotel for the last three Christmas day nights for accommodating my Christmas guests.. I will never subject my visitors to this place again. I tried to book a room on the ground floor for a slightly disabled guest and was told there were none available There is actually a small wing with three rooms but this wing was not going to be used. I have a friend who wanted a room for her disabled father over the Christmas holiday and she was told there were no ground floor rooms. When checking in at 10 55 pm the front door was locked and I had to ask if it could be opened to save my visitor from the extra walk of going round the back of the hotel. This was done for me. When we looked at the room , we had been given a double room up several flights of stairs at the back of the hotel. Not very disabled friendly. I had booked a twin room at the front.

During the night the fire alarm went off at around 2 30am. The guests were all sent out to the car park to wait in the cold for the fire brigade to come and give the all clear, this took 40 minutes. The alarm went off again twice more before morning. My visitors had no sleep at all.
When returning in the morning to collect my visitors I asked what was the problem with the alarm. I was told by a staff member it had been faulty for a while. Why was this not sorted out before Christmas ?

This hotel is in a prime location and could be an excellent hotel if Mercure could be bothered to get it running properly. A good chef and hotel manager could turn this around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel

Address: High Street, Dorking RH4 1BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star beautiful old coaching inn with its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge has 78 en suite rooms and is located in Dorking. Ideal for visiting Dorking and the surrounding picturesque villages and Chessington World of Adventures. Easily accessible via the M25, Dorking train station is 5 minutes away. The hotel also features the Coach House Restaurant, Bar and Lounge. Room service and parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Horse Dorking Hotel Dorking
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.