We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL JUST PLAIN AWFUL!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Plough Inn to your Saves list
The Plough Inn
Coldharbour Lane | Coldharbour, Dorking RH5 6HD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Dorking B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWFUL JUST PLAIN AWFUL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I popped in for a quite drink and some lunch to be met by the most inhospitable old women she was nothing but cold and rude. You would think that she would no a little bit about customer service however not so much! I would never return to the plough again despite the lovely roast beef. Its just a cold atmosphere I hate to say it but unless they get some sort of new management or landlady whatever that women was the place is going under. Its a shame for a pub of that beauty and potential sophistication to be ruined by one women.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    15
    10
    16
See reviews for
16
46
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nothing special. Very quiet location.

Bed was soft. Room was a bit small. There was a sky-light window with no blinds...Was woken up very early with a bright sunshine coming through it.

Food in the evening was nice. Breakfast was adequate.

Due to hotel being located in woodlands there were plenty of birds in the area and as a result my car was covered in bird waste in the morning... however it is not hotel's fault.

What we were totally appalled at was the call from the hotel after we left...Apparently there was some wine spillage in our room and we were being charged for it!!! Yes, we did share a bottle of wine however we did take great care not to spill any. I guess that it is their way of making extra money!!

We were going to return to this hotel...NOT now!! Totally disgusted to be honest. It is not the way to treat your paying guests!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here last night with a college after working locally, Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but couldn't of been more wrong.... Was greeted by the land lady and given our room keys..Rooms were pleasant enough with everything you need for a stop over ( comfortable bed too). The bar was showing the football and after grabbing a drink we sat down to watch it with some of the locals, was made to feel very welcome and had a good chat with a few of them. The pubs own ales were very nice and the draught cider was excellent !
We ate in the pub too and had the steaks after they came highly recommended..Was not dissapointed..The steaks were AMAZING !!.. I personally would highly recommend this Pub/B&B and would definately stay here again should the chance arise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I must admit after reading a fair few of the reviews on here i was to say the least apprehensive about visiting this pub when friends of mine mentioned meeting here, turns out my instinct was wrong. I arrived here at around 1pm whilst waiting for friends when i walked in i noticed the smell of a real log fire which is open both sides... beautiful. the barlady was warm and friendly and put me at ease straight away, the woman i assume to be the landlady i have read so much about was just as nice and struck up a conversation. when my friends arrived we ordered some lunch, the food was great, all home-made. we ended up staying rather longer than originally anticipated so our walk up leith hill was not as long as planned! I must state that i had a fantastic day in the plough, good company, good beer, good food and good service... what more can you ask for? Glad my friends persuaded me to visit this beautiful pub, i will most definately be back...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Went there today. Turned up at about 3pm and received a cold reception from the rude old lady behind the bar if I was not with friends I would have walked out. We felt we were a hinderance rather than a customer wishing to eat and drink.
The food was mediocre and over seasoned with pepper. Certainly not worth the money we paid.
I won't be returning to this establishment there are plenty of great pubs in this area to choice from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Chesterford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay and popped in. The first impression was that we were in a place that had had better times with a not very "fresh smell". We Asked for a taste of the home brewed beer (by the way no very well kept) and I was told that they didn't give tastes because it was too expensive, then I order a pint and a half and asked if could pay by card and I was told that they charged 85 pence for any transaction regardless the amount. Then I asked if there were any room available for a particular date and I was told to call after 10 pm because she had to check online and she couldn't at that moment then I said that I did try phoning during the morning and nobody answer the phone, again I was told that before 10 am there were nobody to answer the phone. The last straw: they don't allow children (10 and 12) because they don't have the facilities. My question what special facilities need two children aged 10 and 12?

Room Tip: I didnt see the rooms but I can tell you that the smell in the pub was not particualry good and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

After a lovely walked we stopped for a quick bite to eat and a drink. After taking our lunch order we were asked where we were sitting and I said over there in the restaurant, and was told you can't sit there as you have only ordered a ploughmans, the restaurant only had one table occuppied and with nowhere else to sit we duly sat there, the ploughmans when it eventually turned up after half an hour with only 2 other people having food was meagre in the extreme. People like this do not deserve to run a very attractive pub as they give such a bad name to pub food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Coldharbour Lane | Coldharbour, Dorking RH5 6HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Dorking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dorking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough Inn, Coldharbour, is a 17th-century country inn set in spectacular countryside in the heart of the Surrey Hills. The Plough is an attractive free house that offers: Comfortable B and B accommodation with a full English breakfast• An intimate English steakhouse restaurant in the evenings• Authentic home-cooked food • Leith Hill Brewery which brews 3 characterful real ales on site • Functions in 'the Barn' - Coldharbour's oldest building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Dorking, Surrey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.