We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resturant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two to Four

Two to Four
2-4 West Street, Dorking RH4 1BL, England
01306 889923
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Two to Four is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Dorking
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $123
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Where possible we get our produce from local suppliers. We all need to think about how we can reduce our carbon footprint; but more importantly is the fact that fresh produce that's in season tastes so much better. Of course it also means our menu is constantly changing, which is great for our customers. Diners can choose from Seasonal set Lunch and set Dinner menus along with our A La Carte menu, thus ensuring our diners can enjoy variety whilst enjoying really great food that is fresh and at its peak. Our meat & fish is as locally sourced as possible and we work really hard to find organic suppliers whenever we can. We think first-class cooking deserves first-class ingredients.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A lovelly little resturant in Dorking town. friendly staff a great place to catch up or have a meal out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Overall just average due to very poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The three of us arrived promptly for 19:30 and only one other group waiting in the foyer.

Seated upstairs and waited ages quite some time for our order to be taken - NOT by one of the waitresses flitting about but some middle aged male (why have a dog and bark yourself springs to mind)

Waited...., waited,......... waited for soup and scallops starters to arrive

Waited....., waited,......... waited for two fillet steaks one medium rare, the other rare and a burger to arrive..............

Same delay for afters cheese platter, chocolate flan with ice cream, and some apple offering.

The food is very nice, don't get me wrong but it is also very expensive. More akin to West End prices.

The bottle of Merlot was quite reasonable at £26.

What really grates is the 10% service charge automatically added to the bill - especially when the service leaves a lot to be desired

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have eaten here a few times and have always enjoyed great service and great food. We also organised a surprise lunch party for my Mum's 70th here in April. Gill and her Head Chef were fantastic at listening to what we wanted and then organising it for us, at the best price they could. We're not always the easiest of customers to please, but everything ran very smoothly on the day and the food Chef produced did not disappoint anyone in our party of about 25. Gill was also great at helping to decorate the private room with us. Our Mum was thrilled with whole thing, and loved the way she, as the Birthday girl, was specially cooked her favourite dish, Dover Sole by the Chef. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant for a private party event or for a meal with friends or a loved one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some excellent food, some nervous service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Two to Four is aiming high - the waitress brought us an amuse bouche to start, which was exquisite, my mushroom a la grecque was just as good, and the main course, though not quite as impressive, was very good. I was left unmoved by the dessert - a tart whose name and contents I have already forgotten 24 hours later! And to finish a small cake was served. This might have been gorgeous once but was stale. Service was solicitous, although we were asked 'is everything alright here' once too often and as if there had been a recent disturbance! This waitress was new; I would also suggest the wine waiter was new as he pured wine into my glass as if we were in a pub! By the time I was halfway through it, the wine was at room temperature. Oh dear! A friend was paying so I didn't make anything of these errors, which did spoil my enjoyment of the evening a bit. I hope the restaurant reads these and will invest in a little training...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great find for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In Dorking on a cold Saturday in October. Found this restaurant and had a fantastic lunch! Excellent value and great quality. We eat out quite a bit and this restaurant was a great find. Very warm welcome and realised (it was confirmed) that all food cooked in house, including the ice cream with pudding. Its a pity that we live a distance away or we would be regulars. Don't miss it

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two to Four also viewed

 

Been to Two to Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two to Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.