We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stop at The Farm Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmcafe

Farmcafe
Main Road | Marlesford, Woodbridge IP13 0AG, England
+44 (0)1728 747717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 82 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: English, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always stop at The Farm Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We always stop for a breakfast,lunch or afternoon tea on our way to Hopton on sea & then on our way back to Herts.We love the food and the friendly staff,you may pay a bit more for your meal but it's really worth it.We love the Suffolk breakfast,you must have the wonderful mushrooms.
We have also brought from the shop,cakes,beer,frozen meals,fresh meals,jams, and sauces. Well done Farm cafe,see you soon!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    44
    7
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I have visited the farmcafe on several occasions.. Often making a detour to stop in for a hearty breakfast or brunch.. It does exactly what it says on the tin .. Haven't ventured too much into the menu past the 'Suffolk' breakfast and when you add a pot of tea and a few extras to the plate, some may say the price is on the high side.. I think in defence of this when you consider the escalating food prices.., staff costs and amenities it must be difficult to serve any descent plate of food for under £10
Slight point that is a bit of a chore there are quite a few larger tables .. When it's busy it's hard to get a seat but you can't help noticing many seats empty at larger tables where only two people are sat ...
Maybe someone managing this in a busier period would help not turning customers away .. As I have been in the past ..
On the whole a great place to go well worth a visit !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst value breakfast ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went to this cafe a little while ago and we're very pleased with everything about it. Based on our previous experience we returned today and were very disappointed. Whilst there is ample parking and the Farm cafe is clean and tidy with a pleasant outlook to the rear the price of food has been grossly inflated since our last visit. The "Suffolk" breakfast conjures up images of a hearty meal that leaves the customer satisfied and fully charged to face the day. Sadly what we were served with by a rather pushy young man consisted of 2 small sausages, 2 small eggs and 2 rashes of bacon. If you want other standard components of a cooked breakfast (i.e mushrooms or beans) you have to pay extra on top of the £7.20 price for the basics. We left still feeling hungry and wondering whether the business had changed ownership since our last visit. When we went to settle the bill we were not asked "Was everything okay?" and all the girl behind the till was interested in was taking our money

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul T, Owner at Farmcafe, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast and was not asked whether your food was okay. I insist that we use the freshest, very local, best quality free range ingredients for our breakfast. while also offering a wide choice of locally made sauces and free refills for tea and coffee. The price reflects the quality of the ingredients.

I listen carefully to all the comments made by our customers and the majority appear to appreciate the quality and choice and therefore understand that the breakfast is good value. In fact yesterday we were so full we had to turn customers away at breakfast time!

However this does not excuse the fact that you were not happy with the service either. I will review our customer service practice. All front of house staff are trained to make sure to ask whether the customer has enjoyed their meal and if not they are empowered to take the appropriate action.

Obviously something went wrong that day for which I am very sorry.

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review to let me know about your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Excellent location for a lazy Sunday breakfast. Good service and reasonable prices. Just off the A12 so easy to find.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good local food, easy parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The cafe is on the A12, just north of Wickham Market. There is a foodmarket selling lots of local produce. Much of the food in the cafe is also local. There are plenty of tables. The service was efficient and friendly. The Christmas menu had just started, and offered good variety. The food was tasty with reasonable portions.There are views over fields at the back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmcafe also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to Farmcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmcafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.